Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Pretty good, and certainly easy! I doubled up the garlic and cheese, and used 5 tablespoons of butter (as suggested by previous reviewers to increase the butter. Thanks!) I did need to use all the milk, and I still think the final scones were a bit dry. It was easy, though, and pretty tasty, so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Really yummy! They lasted about 5minutes in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have worked as a chef for a few years and I am always keen to try new recipes. I was looking for a new cheese scone recipe. I came across this one and tried it. On the first attempt I was not very impressed. I tried again but changed a few things. I put 6tps (90g butter) like other people recommed. Also the amonut of milk stated was way to much you only need. 2/3 of a cup (175mls). Also I see alot of other people have had problems with the dough being very sticky. It is ment to be quite stick but one you have made the dough. Before flatening and cooking. Put in a bowl and cover with cling film. Put in fridge for 20-30min. This will alow dough to rest and will give flour time to absorb milk. You will end with a scones that are not sogy and the dough will be easier to handle. One final thing The temperature of oven that is stated in recipe if far to high. You should cook at 180c max. If you cook at a lower temperature then it will cook better and the scones will be light with that crubley texture that so many of you are looking for. Rather than sogy and heavy.If you cook at a very high temperature the out side will cook befor the inside and will result in the inside not cooking proberly. after making these ajustments my second batch of scone came out fantastic. They were the best I have tasted. I hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I literally just got done making these and I am amazed by how easy it was. Like others I added the baking powder and upped the butter and I'm really happy with how these turned out. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Thanks for the wonderful recipe. It has to be one of the fastest recipes I have ever made. You can whip a batch up in about 15 minutes and have them ready for the over. Ten minutes is sufficient. Any more and I believe they would be over done. I also used 1.5 tbsp of baking power to make up for not having self rising flour. Turned out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I'm rather generous with the butter, garlic and cheese, and these are great. I only cook 4 at a time and freeze the other four. do not freeze with milk brushed on. just brush some onto the frozen scones before popping them into the oven. so good with any pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by counterjester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
First time making scones and everything turned out perfect. Definitely requires 6 tbsp of butter though to avoid heaviness as others have pointed out. I'll be making these again and again. Can't wait to try differnet cheeses and berries etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I upped the butter to 6 TB, added fresh rosemary, about a cup of mozzarella and garlic. They turned out FABULOUS! Light fluffy and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nepean, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Having read other reviews, I added slightly more butter. They turned out amazingly well! Light and fluffy throughout. My fiance told me to make double quantities next time I made them! I'm making a third batch today and have followed the recipe exactly. I'll let you know how they come out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These were really really good. I used 1/2 whole wheat and half white flour, adding 1.5 tbsp baking powder per cup to make it self-rising. I subbed a romano and asiago blend for the cheese, and added some chopped fresh herbs along with the garlic. (I chopped the garlic, some fresh rosemary, basil, parsley and flaked red chilis, and cooked them in some olive oil for about a minute in the mike to take some of the bite out of the garlic. This allowed me to use a lot more, but keep the mellow yummy garlic flavour instead of the harsh raw garlic flavour.) Oh -and I didn't knead or roll these -too sticky. I wet my hands and rolled them gently into balls, flattening them on the greased cookie sheet. My guests couldn't stop eating these -best hot, and I served with chunky tomato potato soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States