Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These were very good. The day after, they seem to be more "doughy", but once heated up still taste yummy! Excellent for brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie-Ann Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarrow, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I made these scones for a friend who loves cheese and garlic. As many reviewers suggested, I upped the butter to 6T, used 1/3C cheese instead of 1/4C and used 2/3C of milk. I had no idea what a 3/4 pinch of salt was, so I used 1/8 tsp. I also used 1 garlic clove. I've made other scones and the baking temp was 350, so I used that. It was too low - it took forever to bake them, so I would suggest a 375 or even 400 degree oven. (Maybe it makes a difference that I have a gas stove??) I also used my Bosch bread maker to mix it - that way I wouldn't be handling it much and warming up the dough too much. Worked great. Now, I asked my friend to rate these. She said that she gives it a 5 out of 5. Her suggestions were to use 2 cloves instead of 1 (she couldn't pick up the garlic flavor, she thought it was onion) and maybe use a heaping 1/8 tsp of salt. Other than that, she thought it was great and definitely wants to make more of these. She does not over indulge in food, but even she had a hard time staying out of them. Thanks for this keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
my first attempt to make scones. don't know why i was always so leary, there was no reason to be. they turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I liked this recipe, but it did need to be altered a little. I added 1.5 tsp baking powder instead of using self- rising flour. I used 5 tbs butter and still thought it could use more. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I wouldn't really call these a scone, they were more like a biscuit. I didn't have self rising flour, so I used AP flour and added 1 1/2 tbsp baking powder. As suggested by others, I increased the butter to 6 tbsp and doubled the amount of cheese. I sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese and parsley flakes on top before baking. I baked them at 400 degrees. They were very yummy, just like the Red Lobster biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Del Sisters
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great recipe! I sprinkled a little cheese on the top before baking. This was great in the morning with bacon and sausage. Hannah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Del Sisters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelsmonet
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsmonet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Napier, Gisborne-Hawke's Bay, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These scones were absolutely wonderful. I was always leary of them, thinking they wouldn't turn out like the picture. Well, they did and they were quickly eaten that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is the first recipe on this site that if I could rate it 20 out of 5 I would. I had to add half cup of whole wheat flour because I ran out of regular. Didn't have self rising so used baking powder. Added more cheese and butter as suggested. Gosh the taste is just amazing. Never had cheese scones with garlic so that was just delightful. Thanks a ton! P.S. lower oven is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Good. I used the extra butter and less milk and lower oven as suggested ( took 10 min longer). I added thyme and rosemary and a bit more cheese. I did not roll it out- I just formed it in my hands and it turned out quite nicely- Flavour and texture .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States