Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My husband liked them but I didn't think they tasted all that different from bisquick cheese and garlic biscuits from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Given the title of the recipe, I would have expected it to call for much more cheese and garlic. I started out with the suggested half cup of cheese but quickly realized that it wasn't going to shine thru the way I wanted so I ended up using a cup and a half. Two tablespoons of butter was doing nothing in terms of the flour resembling bread crumbs so I increased that to five tablespoons. I also increased the garlic, added in some cayenne for kick and because I happened to have it in the house, I used buttermilk in place of the plain milk. With some personal tweaking, these scones certainly have the potential of being a five star recipe and I thank you ANGG for a great start to something my family devoured with their Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this recipie is a great base but with a few tweeks its definitely a 5/5...1) i didnt have self rising flour so i used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder in 2 cups of ap flour 2)i also bumped the butter up to 6 tablespoons. 3) i also bumped up the amount of garlic as we really really like the flavour (3-4 large cloves) 4) we used a tex-mex mix cheese with jalapenos in it 5) we used buttermilk instead of regular milk totally makes the scones better! 6) we added some black pepper and mrs.dash (the chipotle one) along with some fresh chives...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Yummy recipe. I added some fresh rosemary and basil!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I can't believe it, but I changed every ingredient in this recipe in some manner. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used AP and added 2 tsp of baking powder. As per other reviewers, I used 6 T of butter, and increased the salt to 1/4 tsp. I put in over 1 cup of cheese (mostly rag-tag ends I had in the refrigerator) and 3 cloves of garlic. Instead of a cup of milk I used 2/3 cup of fat-free half and half. I put the flour, BP, salt and butter in the food processor and pulsed it until the butter was well incorporated. Then I put that mixture in a bowl and added the cheese, garlic and some chopped green onions, then the FF half & half. The dough was perfect; not too sticky and it kneaded beautifully. I baked the scones for 20 minutes at 375 and they were wonderful. Tender and flaky and galicky. Next time I may add more cheese, though. Thanks for the great base recipe, ANGG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
As is and based on other members’ reviews, I don’t believe this recipe would be too good. However, it can be saved! Like other reviewers I made several changes: I used six T. butter, one t. rosemary, one t. basil, one c. cheese, ¾ c. milk, and three cloves of garlic. I cooked at 350 F for around 15 minutes. They tasted great but were still a tad heavy; next time I will cook at a slightly lower temperature. Also, like another reviewer suggested, I will put the dough in a bowl, cover with cling wrap, and let set in the refrigerator for 20 to 30 minutes. I’m rating this recipe a three since it has good potential, but requires several alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These were tasty! I did admittedly change some of the recipe per another reviewers suggestion. I used AP flour with 1 1/2 tbsp of baking powder instead of self-rising flour. I doubled the cheese and tripled the butter. I should have also added more garlic. Flavor and consistency were very good. Baked for 20 minutes and came out slightly dry, will decrease the amount of time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ebita
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
it said bake 10 to 20min. so I baked 13 min. (just in case, to avoid overbaked scone) they were much drier than expected. I would change to have one egg with 1 teaspoon of milk as graze to go on top of scones to leave 10min before bake. This way keeps scones to be too dry! Please try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These were very good. The day after, they seem to be more "doughy", but once heated up still taste yummy! Excellent for brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie-Ann Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarrow, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I made these scones for a friend who loves cheese and garlic. As many reviewers suggested, I upped the butter to 6T, used 1/3C cheese instead of 1/4C and used 2/3C of milk. I had no idea what a 3/4 pinch of salt was, so I used 1/8 tsp. I also used 1 garlic clove. I've made other scones and the baking temp was 350, so I used that. It was too low - it took forever to bake them, so I would suggest a 375 or even 400 degree oven. (Maybe it makes a difference that I have a gas stove??) I also used my Bosch bread maker to mix it - that way I wouldn't be handling it much and warming up the dough too much. Worked great. Now, I asked my friend to rate these. She said that she gives it a 5 out of 5. Her suggestions were to use 2 cloves instead of 1 (she couldn't pick up the garlic flavor, she thought it was onion) and maybe use a heaping 1/8 tsp of salt. Other than that, she thought it was great and definitely wants to make more of these. She does not over indulge in food, but even she had a hard time staying out of them. Thanks for this keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States