Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Made this for my family-loved it! Used 3T garlic instead of the clove and added 1/2 cup more cheese. Turned out WONDERFUL!!!!! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This recipe is super easy and is used with soups, stew ect. for a bonus to any dinner.... soooo yummy, everyone loves them.. I usually add a little seasoning such as garlic plus and salt and pepper as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My husband liked them but I didn't think they tasted all that different from bisquick cheese and garlic biscuits from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Given the title of the recipe, I would have expected it to call for much more cheese and garlic. I started out with the suggested half cup of cheese but quickly realized that it wasn't going to shine thru the way I wanted so I ended up using a cup and a half. Two tablespoons of butter was doing nothing in terms of the flour resembling bread crumbs so I increased that to five tablespoons. I also increased the garlic, added in some cayenne for kick and because I happened to have it in the house, I used buttermilk in place of the plain milk. With some personal tweaking, these scones certainly have the potential of being a five star recipe and I thank you ANGG for a great start to something my family devoured with their Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
this recipie is a great base but with a few tweeks its definitely a 5/5...1) i didnt have self rising flour so i used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder in 2 cups of ap flour 2)i also bumped the butter up to 6 tablespoons. 3) i also bumped up the amount of garlic as we really really like the flavour (3-4 large cloves) 4) we used a tex-mex mix cheese with jalapenos in it 5) we used buttermilk instead of regular milk totally makes the scones better! 6) we added some black pepper and mrs.dash (the chipotle one) along with some fresh chives...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Yummy recipe. I added some fresh rosemary and basil!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I can't believe it, but I changed every ingredient in this recipe in some manner. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used AP and added 2 tsp of baking powder. As per other reviewers, I used 6 T of butter, and increased the salt to 1/4 tsp. I put in over 1 cup of cheese (mostly rag-tag ends I had in the refrigerator) and 3 cloves of garlic. Instead of a cup of milk I used 2/3 cup of fat-free half and half. I put the flour, BP, salt and butter in the food processor and pulsed it until the butter was well incorporated. Then I put that mixture in a bowl and added the cheese, garlic and some chopped green onions, then the FF half & half. The dough was perfect; not too sticky and it kneaded beautifully. I baked the scones for 20 minutes at 375 and they were wonderful. Tender and flaky and galicky. Next time I may add more cheese, though. Thanks for the great base recipe, ANGG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
As is and based on other members’ reviews, I don’t believe this recipe would be too good. However, it can be saved! Like other reviewers I made several changes: I used six T. butter, one t. rosemary, one t. basil, one c. cheese, ¾ c. milk, and three cloves of garlic. I cooked at 350 F for around 15 minutes. They tasted great but were still a tad heavy; next time I will cook at a slightly lower temperature. Also, like another reviewer suggested, I will put the dough in a bowl, cover with cling wrap, and let set in the refrigerator for 20 to 30 minutes. I’m rating this recipe a three since it has good potential, but requires several alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These were tasty! I did admittedly change some of the recipe per another reviewers suggestion. I used AP flour with 1 1/2 tbsp of baking powder instead of self-rising flour. I doubled the cheese and tripled the butter. I should have also added more garlic. Flavor and consistency were very good. Baked for 20 minutes and came out slightly dry, will decrease the amount of time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States