Easy 'Charro' Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I almost followed the recipe! Hard for a chef to follow one completely, right? Instead of chipotle peppers I used seeded jalapeno. I used fresh beans instead of canned and boiled a ham on a bone I had left over from Christmas. I added about a teaspoon of cumin and two teaspoons of powder. I must say it was wonderful. I then cooked it in a 250 degree oven along with the pork shoulder for about 4 to 5 hours until fork tender. This is going to be wonderful as a burrito from the left overs for this evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayjacksonpdx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was super delicious. I tweaked it a little bit I didn't drain the beans which I feel gave the soup more flavor I didn't just use the partial bacon fat for the onions, ham and chorizo I used all the fat left and once everything was cooked a little I pour all the contents into the large pan to make the soup. That was basically the only things I changed but over all this was amazing thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! I would prefer it not to be as hot as it is but loved eating it in small portions. I will try to take some heat out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
My son love the Charros Beans, but I do not use the bacon drippings, the ham, the chipotle peper and the garlic. Instead of that I use dog sausage diced (2 packs of about 8 pieces, medium fried)4 tomatoes diced ( medium heat) and at last add 1 bunch of cilantro chopped when the beans mixture are boil. And enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this as a soup. My favorite Mexican restaurant has a charro bean soup. I did change the recipe because I was unable to find chipotle peppers without driving across town. I chopped the garlic and left it in the soup. Also, I added 2 tablespoons of cilantro, 1 teaspoon chicken bouillon, 1 - 14.5 oz can of diced fire roasted tomatoes salsa style and 5 cups of water. This was amazing. My husband and I both had 2nds and took it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
excellent flavor. one of my favorite recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was a cinch to make and was a big hit with my family! Love this dish! Great as a side or the main course. I added a little pepper and cumin for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were great! I used dried pintos, soaked overnight, instead of the canned. Everything fit perfectly into a 4-qt. slow cooker. It took a little longer to soften than I would've liked (it smelled great, so I was impatient), but the final product was worth the wait. Fantastic on its own or w/ rice, which made it hearty enough to eat as a meal. Thanks, P!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycesq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I modified this recipe to fit what I had and our taste. I used 6 strips of bacon 1/2 pound jalepeno sausage cut in 1/4" slices 1 pound of dried pinto beans 1 poblano pepper 1/2 bunch of cilantro 1 teaspoon cumin I started the beans in a pot of boiling water for 30 minutes and then transfered them to a crock pot and cooked them all day with the garlic, pepper and cilantro. 30 minutes before the beans were finished I reserved 2 cups and mashed them with a potatoe masher returning them to the crock pot, then added all of the other ingredients and cooked it for the final 30 minutes. Of course I put the cooked bacon in the pot as well even though it does not have that in the recipe. I did not remove the garlic or pepper since they cooked in the crock pot all day and pretty much broke into tiny peices. The pot of beans was devoured and I am going to have to buy another large crock pot so I can double the recipe next time. This is a great recipe since it gives you all kinds of wiggle room to modify it to what you have on hand and your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States