Easy Cassoulet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by long lick
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome. Added jalepino and bacon.Man food for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Nice dish, rather heavy on the meat, but Cassoulets generally are, at least from what I've read. I used Marsala wine (what I had open--I don't like having more than one bottle of wine in the fridge at any given time) and it worked well. I also used black eyed peas instead of navy beans because the black eyed peas were handy at the time. I lvoed this, and served with bread (for myself) and rice (for hubs) plus green beans. I really liked it with the green beans that accidently mixed in this on my plate, so I think I'd add green beans or carrots or both next time--I liked the veggies with all those meat and beans. Hubs thought it was "all right" but I definitely enjoyed this and think you could take down the meat a notch if you aren't in the mood for that much. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I wouldn't call this a cassoulet to a French person with a straight face, but it was tasty. I didn't have cloves so I went a different direction and used thyme. I also dramatically increased the beans (limas as well as navy). The meat to bean ratio here is way in favor of meat; when I make it again I'll further increase the beans. Good for your heart and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I absolutely loved this, even though I didn't put in all the sausage. My husband didn't care for it, but I will make again just for me because it was just SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Good. Cooked just as directed. Our friend loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This was fabulous. I made a few small changes. I used 1 onion, added ½ a green pepper, and some frozen peas. I also added ½ cup of instant rice to bulk it up a bit, which of course meant I had to increase the liquid. I would add ½ cup of wine and ½ cup of water or broth to this recipe as well, if you add rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I forgot to read the reviews before I made this and have to agree on a few things. Too much cloves for my taste but tolerable. Woulds maybe cut down to pinch to 1/8t. Like the meat but would probably add more beans (again my liking). And maybe more wine(double?). but I still did enjoy this dish and will make it again...it is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Just too darn meaty for me. I think it'd make maybe a nice side dish, perhaps cutting back on the meat quanities. Unfortunately, I'll be removing this from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
We had this several months ago, and it was very good for a cold winter evening meal. Serve with cornbread...Yum! Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Good but next time I would only put a hint of cloves in. 1/4 tsp was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States