Easy Cassoulet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by long lick
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome. Added jalepino and bacon.Man food for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Nice dish, rather heavy on the meat, but Cassoulets generally are, at least from what I've read. I used Marsala wine (what I had open--I don't like having more than one bottle of wine in the fridge at any given time) and it worked well. I also used black eyed peas instead of navy beans because the black eyed peas were handy at the time. I lvoed this, and served with bread (for myself) and rice (for hubs) plus green beans. I really liked it with the green beans that accidently mixed in this on my plate, so I think I'd add green beans or carrots or both next time--I liked the veggies with all those meat and beans. Hubs thought it was "all right" but I definitely enjoyed this and think you could take down the meat a notch if you aren't in the mood for that much. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I wouldn't call this a cassoulet to a French person with a straight face, but it was tasty. I didn't have cloves so I went a different direction and used thyme. I also dramatically increased the beans (limas as well as navy). The meat to bean ratio here is way in favor of meat; when I make it again I'll further increase the beans. Good for your heart and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I absolutely loved this, even though I didn't put in all the sausage. My husband didn't care for it, but I will make again just for me because it was just SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Good. Cooked just as directed. Our friend loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This was fabulous. I made a few small changes. I used 1 onion, added ½ a green pepper, and some frozen peas. I also added ½ cup of instant rice to bulk it up a bit, which of course meant I had to increase the liquid. I would add ½ cup of wine and ½ cup of water or broth to this recipe as well, if you add rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I forgot to read the reviews before I made this and have to agree on a few things. Too much cloves for my taste but tolerable. Woulds maybe cut down to pinch to 1/8t. Like the meat but would probably add more beans (again my liking). And maybe more wine(double?). but I still did enjoy this dish and will make it again...it is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Just too darn meaty for me. I think it'd make maybe a nice side dish, perhaps cutting back on the meat quanities. Unfortunately, I'll be removing this from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
We had this several months ago, and it was very good for a cold winter evening meal. Serve with cornbread...Yum! Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Good but next time I would only put a hint of cloves in. 1/4 tsp was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States