Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These are tender and delicious using the recipe as is. Sometimes I follow the suggestions of adding more onions and skewing the lid a little for the second simmer I remove the pork chops after searing and put them back in once the onions just start to soften, and sometimes remove the pork chops and add a little water and cornstarch mixture to make a delicious oniony gravy. They are delicious however you fix them. We like thinner pork chops in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Everything is better with carmelized onions!! I am making some tonight to serve over left over steak with cheese in a sandwich for DH. I always add a little butter or olive oil to pan, turn heat to high for a few minutes then simmer covered until he gets home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These are very good and easy to make. Definitely a keeper. I make something similar that my Mom made all the time. After browning the chops and onions, I add a can of stewed tomatoes with oregano and the other Italian spices. I put them through the food processor and add a can (or more)of water and/ or chicken broth. Add more Italian spices and 1/2 tsp of vinegar. Makes a great sauce to serve over mashed potatoes. I sometimes thicken the sauce with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Since I'm single and love to cook like these easy to make meals I can fix up quick. Served over Rice Can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Noonan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake George, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I make this all the time. Instead of adding water I use red wine. Juice is delicious with Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My mother used to make pork chops like this only she always used juice for the liquid (from canned pears or peaches, or apple juice). I have continued the tradition. They are delicious! I think thin cut chops work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe but it's very similar to how I make my Pork Chops. I brown the chops first and remove them then put in onions, after they start to get soft I put the chops on top and add 1 envelope of Onion Soup mix and cover with water and let simmer for about 20 minutes. It makes a great gravy over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe and it came out exactly as pictured, which is all I can ask for right? But I was still so proud of the way the pork turned out from this that I wanted to shout it from the rooftops! I was terribly afraid I was overcooking the pork and that it was going to be tough, especially because I use on sale meat which is usually tougher and less fatty anyway. However, the pork came out fork tender and juicy. I'm actually going to make it for a friend of the family this Christmas, who hasn't had pork in a long time because he has trouble eating tough meat! Now a small word about the onions. I did take the meat out of the pan to let the onions finish cooking down, just so they'd get that lovely brown and I did use two onions because I like them with a sprinkle of sugar on top, but I didn't think that altered the recipe enough to constitute posting a new recipe for it instead of a review. And as wonderful as the pork and onions were, I was serving it with some mashed potatoes so I did make a gravy from the pork and onion fond(?), with some chicken broth and a bit of flour. It came out lovely. I really do recommend this recipe for pork lovers to try! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Lily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I love this recipe and have made it several times, although I have substituted white wine for the water. It just gives it a wonderful extra flavor and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States