Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These chops came out amazingly tender and juicy; I didn't even need a knife to cut them, just a fork. I used chicken broth instead of water, stirred in a dash of brown sugar to the onions, and used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I agree with other reviewers that the second simmer needs to be with the lid off. Also, 20 mins may be a bit much on the second time around, but it surely didn't hurt them any! Hands down the best pork chops I've ever had...ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
As the recipe is...it's 3 stars max; but the way I doctored it up...it was like 10 stars! I used a pork rub to season before I browned the pork....then removed the chops once browned and sauteed the onions (2 yellow onions thinly sliced) with 1 tsp of sugar. Then added the pork back and added 1 cup of apple juice instead of water. Then followed the recipe. It was amazing! It was the first time I've made pork chops and actually wanted more than one! My husband ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Made it more than once, it is good every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Okay here goes. They were freaking awesome....I'm a pepper guy so I didn't use all of the salt they asked for but just enough to cover the chops and then pepper them. I removed the lid the second simmer but I think the 20 minutes was a bit to much. They were good but maybe a bitwell done. I'll experiment the next time with about 15 for the second simmer. I removed the onions and mixed some water with corn starch then into the water and juices and the gravy turned out terrific. Had that bit of peppery kick to it that I like. Definitely will make again. I give it 4 stars because I think everything needs a bit improving......enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
At 41 years old, this is the first pork chop recipe I've ever made that I absolutely loved!!! Besides one well known restaurant, this is the first time I really enjoyed this cut of meat. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by LOLA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
With all the cautions of it being to salty I initially didn't put that much salt. But while cooking, a dash of salt here a sprinkle there then simmering with a little white wine = a little on the salty side. It was still good. I added mushrooms. The meat was soft and it had good flavor. I never have any pork recipes but, this is a keeper. I just have to be careful with the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Used 6 loin chops, 2 small/med onions, added several dashes of liquid smoke, mixed 1/2 (large) bullion cube with the 1 C water. Didn't cook the liquid down too much. Added Wondra to thicken just a bit. Very good, although the meat wasn't quite as tender as I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Take it easy on the seasoning salt. It was great, but too salty. I also made gravy with the drippings in the same pan. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonalex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Was in a hurry to find new recipe one night but didnt have an onion so I used lipton onion soup mix. To my suprise turned out great! Browned the chops like recipe said and added water and soup mix when they were done I thickened up the remaining soup/water with flour and it made an awsome gravy my husband said it was the best pork he ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good recipe. I made two changes,Made the water apple juice and I added two apples to the mix and cooked them down to make a great apple onion sauce to cover chops on the plate. We loved it.I'll be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States