Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I have made these 2 times. My store had loin roast on sale for 98 cents a pound so I wanted some new good recipes and found one here. The first time I made this exactly as written. I served this with mashed red potatoes and fresh green beans. The chops were melt in your mouth tender. The second time I made these I used a green bell pepper with the onion and a jalapeno pepper. I also used a cup of chicken base, 2 cloves of garlic and about a tablespoon of fresh Rosemary. Both ways were equally as delicious. Go for it. You're going to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I seared the chops first, as suggested by many other reviewers, then took them out and set them aside while I started cooking the onions. Then I added the chops back along with the 1 cup of liquid (I used chicken broth rather than water) and cooked for 10 minutes more uncovered. The chops came out very, very tough and dry. I think they would have been even more overcooked had I left the chops in the pan the whole time. The onions were good, but I think that was due to the fact that I cooked them a bit before adding the liquid. I think caramelizing some onions and piling them on pan seared chops would give a better result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Amazingly simple pork chop recipe that is packed with flavor! My husband said these were high-end restaurant quality pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Cizewski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Love this recipe, good way to keep boneless chops tender. I use white wine or chicken broth instead of water, more onion, shallots if I have them. Agree with other reviewers about cooking uncovered towards the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Easy,diet friendly. Followed reviewers tips about adding a little sugar to caramelized onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made this last night and it was very good and easy. Use a large onion... the more the better. I suggest that you use a bit less water and REMOVE the cover after 20 min. The recipe suggests you cover the second half until the water evaporates but if you cover there is nowhere for the water to go. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Cox
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Too much salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious and oh so easy! My husband who isn't a pork fan raved about how good this is, and it will be my new go-to pork chop recipe. I halved the recipe and cut the salt to 1/2 tsp which I sprinkled on rather than rubbed - not so messy. Once the water had evaporated to about 1 cup I added 1 tsp cornstarch and 1/2 tsp garlic powder, as others suggested, and whisked it with a miniature whisk to make a gravy. I was able to do this around the chops so no need to remove them. It was fantastic served over a grain mixture! I agree with other reviewers about using more onion and will double them next time. Thank you Pamela for sharing an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States