Easy Caramelized Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I took the advice of some of the others and used less salt/pepper and left the skillet uncovered for the second simmer. After I took the pork and onions out I made a bit of pan sauce with approximately 1/2 cup of white wine, 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard, 1 tablespoon of milk (didn't have any cream) and some garlic. I didn't measure it out though so it may need to be adjusted to taste. It didn't make much but a little went a long way and it went great with the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
OMG WERE THESE JUST DELICIOUS!!!!! i was so sick of the same ol same ol way of making pork chops but these.....ME OH MY TAKE THE CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
One word. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These turned out really moist and delicious. I followed previous advice and substituted beef broth for the water, but not sure I would do that again. It was a tad on the salty side - maybe reduce the salt? But they certainly were juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Easy is the key word here! The pork chops were very tender and juicy, something that is always a challenge with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
What a great way to enjoy pork chops! I've made this recipe five times in the last month, I like it so much! However, I believe the amount of water to add is variable, and near end of cooking pan may have to be uncovered to reduce sauce. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was fabulous when I made it tonight but I made a few modifications. The total cooking time ended up being closer to an hour than 45 min. I browned the chops, removed them then caramelized the onions, adding 2. t. of sugar & 1/2 t. paprika. Added back the chops, then used 1 c. of beef boullion (used the concentrated paste, Better Than Boullion). Simmered covered 20 min., turned then simmered another 15 min. Removed chops turn heat to high, whisked in a paste made of 2 T butter & 2 T. flour, let it bubble a couple minutes while whisking. Turned down the heat to a simmer, added the chops back in... spooning the gravy over the chops. Covered and simmered another 5 minutes. Placed chops on a platter, gravy in a bowl. Served with steamed new potatoes & green beans. Fabulous! Hubby was thrilled at the new addition to our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRALU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is absolutely to die for! Of course we love onions. It is even better in the slow cooker. The meat just falls off the bones. So simple but full of flavor. I used beef/chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
my pork got a little tougher than i'd like but i may have coooked it a tad too long (trying to get used to an electric stove--not fun. i want gas back!) will make this again, but next time use more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM_Queen
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This meal is delicious but I altered the recipe a little. After simmering for 20 mins I flipped the chops and seasoned the other side of each. But instead of waiting for the water to evaporate, I uncovered the chops, cooked for an additional 15-20 minutes. Then I removed the pork from the skillet, leaving the onions and remaining water, and put them in a hot plate to keep warm. I raised the heat to med-low and added 1 1/2 tsp of sugar to the remaining onions and water (the sugar cuts back some of the saltyness and turns the water into a glaze-like substance. Continue cooking glaze for a couple of minutes or until reached desired consistancy. Spoon glaze unto chops and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States