Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
My family loves this recipe!! The only thing I do differently is to add 2-3 cans more of chicken broth, otherwise it is extremely pasty. It is pretty spicey but you can adjust that as well to your own tastes. It's easy and makes enough to freeze for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I have been using this recipe since I found it on allrecipes.com a couple of years ago. This is a wonderful recipe by itself or used as a base. In the numerous times I have made this, I have added tomato sauce, extra garlic, and shrimp. My only suggestion, is if you have a tough time cooking the rice without making it sticky (a problem I always have), cook the rice separately and add it to the other simmered ingredients when it is done. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This was great! After getting everything cut up, it was really easy to put together, and it was so yummy! I made just a few changes. I added about one and a half cans of diced tomatoes. I also used half green onions and half white onions. And I added about a tablespoon of cajun seasoning. It turned out great. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Delicious and just the right amount of heat! I added a 14 1/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes, and used 1 1/2 tsp. of Tony Chachere's creole seasoning in place of salt & pepper. Omitted hot sauce as I don't like it too spicy. For my first time, this turned out to be fabulous...didn't use celery and it turned out just great! My fiancee went back for seconds, something he's only done a handful of times in 6 1/2 years. So that's really saying something! I hope this is as good the next day, this makes a ton of food, too much for just two people. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is a great jambalaya base...to this recipe I added a can of drained red beans and a can of diced tomatoes w/green chiles. I also added more cayenne pepper because we like it hot! I'll definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
WooooWheee Dat's Goot! Very Excellent/Accurate Base Some minor changes after trying it the original way the first time. First off, add a can of Rotel Tomatoes with Chili's, and cut back on cayenne pepper just a tad to make up for it. Cut back the Broth To 1.5 Cups and cook your Rice separately using chicken broth/shrimp broth or both, lastly and imo most important, add, 2lbs of shrimp to the pot just as you take it off the heat, give it a stir, put the lid on it and turn the heat off, (This will guarantee your shrimp turn out perfectly cooked and not rubbery.) Stir once or or twice every 2-3 minutes and and after 5 minutes have passed stir in your cooked rice and let set 5 minutes so the rice can soak up all them flavors, Now taste, and adjust seasoning. If your going to err, do so on the side of mildness, people can always add a bit more hot sauce or creole seasoning. NOTE: Cajun food is not about heat, it's about great robust flavors. Yes, it usually has a little kick to it, but rarely a bite. I'm sick of people throwing in a ton of cayenne and calling something Cajun. It's Not! A GREAT RECIPE and had tons of flavor, I let mine cook about twice what suggested though before throwing in the rice as I really wanted to let them flavors meld. I also took the tails and shells of the shrimp and boiled them and used the stock to make rice along with the chicken stock, I got rave reviews. I thought I was N.O. again. Laissez les bons temps rouler! Pass the Beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Although not jambalaya fans, this recipe was pretty good for us. We skipped the green pepper & celery, but added some ground thyme, as well as increasing amounts of worcestershire & hot sauce. This is very much a rice dish, so as long as you like rice you should be fine. When reheating you definitely need to add more chicken broth or it would be too pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
my husband & i really enjoy this dish. i add extra chicken & sausage. i use lean turkey sausage so it's a little healthier. i also add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Easy, good and inexpensive to make. I used to live in New Orleans, and actually prefer this recipe to the jamba's I had down there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Really good. I added a can of Ro-tel to ours. Just the right zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States