Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Rinse your rice thoroughly before adding to keep it from becoming pasty, or, cook it seperately, (after rinsing first,) and add at end, then, simmer a little longer to get some of the stock flavor into rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This wasn't terrible but I don't think I'll be making it again. The flavors were good but weird. I added a d can of diced tomatoes & used shrimp in place of chicken per other reviewers suggestions & also added a can of red kidney beans (need more fiber & iron in my diet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
made as is, except added the Worcestershire sauce to the chicken stock and added another cup of broth. for those that have sticky rice issues, i learned long ago rinsing the rice until the water is clear(2 or 3 times) before you cook it removes the starch that makes it sticky, doesn't change the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarbear
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Love this easy recipe! I add an extra Green Pepper and extra celery along with a diced medium onion instead of onion powder to give the meal a bit more substance. And I also use a local butchers Andouiee sausage to get a bit more heat but still this is a great recipe and always goes fast around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Sooooo yummy! First time making jumbalaya and it was delicious, simple, and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe!! Finally one that doesnt call for tomatoes!!! I come from southwest Louisiana. Creole jambalaya has tomatoes, cajun does not. I prefer the cajun version, as do all in my family. I also like to use cheap cuts of pork in place or in addition to the chicken. And any kind of smoked sausage works well. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyrus Cyd Nugent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe is really great. I went with other reviewers' advice and added a can of diced tomatoes. I opted to skip the chicken and used 14 extra large shrimp which I added after cooking time and let steam up, stirring after 2 minutes, another 3 minutes, and another 5 minutes (10 minutes total elapsed time). I substituted turkey kielbasa. I also used brown rice so my cooking time was 40 minutes. I'm confident that this is a 5 star recipe based on the flavor of the dish, despite the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Really easy and tasty. Per the other reviewers' advice, I added a 14-oz can of diced tomatoes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was so easy to make and tasted good too! I left out the bell pepper and celery and added a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I also added a teaspoon and a half of Creole Seasoning and an additional two cups of chicken broth. I might try a different jambalaya recipe next time though this one was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
plus added some kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States