Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very good recipe. Only gave it 4 stars because I never made it exactly as it is outlined in the recipe. Don't care for celery or very spicy food, so I made sure it was more tame for my tastes and used chicken & beef stock instead as well. Basically, I used this recipe as a base for my own version. But it was a great recipe base to start with and to add your own flavors to suit your needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Wow this was so good! I used 1 tb Tony Chacheres creole seasoning in place of the salt and pepper and omitted the hot sauce (the kids). I only used turkey kielbasa as that is all I had on hand. I cooked the rice (brown rice) separate and added near the end. I also added a can of red beans and rotel tomatoes. Turned out too spicy for the kids but the adults loved it. Will def make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was delish! I added about a half a pack of chopped bacon to it! You can never go wrong with adding bacon to something. I left out the celery as we aren't fans of the flavor, and added some (about a tablespoon) creole. I will for sure save this recipe for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Oh my! This is one fabulous recipe for jambalaya! The only thing I changed was that I used andouille sausage instead of of kielbasa. Being Polish, I believe that the kielbasa changes it all because of the seasoning & smokiness. I think I will add tomatoes next time for more tanginess & a tomatoey flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is an easy and very flavourful jambalaya.. It would be a great base for many versions of this classic dish. We added the cayenne, some 'Cajun garlic' we had bought in Charleston, SC at the market, and liberally splashed tobasco all over it. There was a bit of heat, actually a nice bit of heat! I think tomatoes would add to this, otherwise, it's perfect. I couldn't believe all that flavour came from a few basic ingredients. Again, I think recipes need to be adaptable to the cook's tastes and moods. This recipe fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Oh man this was a great recipie. I normally don't like Jambalaya but this one had just the right amount of spicy for me and the hubby. I used Siracha garlic pepper paste for my hot pepper sauce and next time I will take out a serving for my daughter before I stir in the last ingredients. Thanks for this great share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amccrerrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was so good and very easy to make my family loved it and I will be making it again and again..The only thing I did differently was I used Brown rice and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Really enjoyed this. Added a pinch more cayenne, one can of chopped tomatoes, pre-cooked the rice,added about four cups of broth then the rice. Let it simmer for five eminutes to reheat the rice, Used asian chili sauce instead of tabasco...but, it was all still good. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This recipe was delicious! However, my jambalaya wasn't the normal "dirty" color you typically see....oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good recipe, I did a little different things, I used a red ( purple ) onion, whichever word you prefer and a red bell pepper. And I used a pure beef sausage. Other than that, I did it all as written. My mother wasn't crazy about the use of Worcestesshire sauce, she said it made it "weird". Mothers! Oh yea, I used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States