Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Fantastic!The hardest part of this was just dicing everything, literally that easy to make. I personally prefer things on the spicy side so I diced up a dozen Cayennes and added that in. Also my local store didn't have andouille or kielbasa so I used Italian sausage which was good also. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Delicious... Not time consuming after a long day of work & practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
after reading reviews I also added a can of diced tomatoes, extra chicken and shrimp. I also cooked the rice separately and added it after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe but used a bit of extra spice plus siracha, and used cauliflower for rice. The family was amazed it's going on our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanne918

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sekiu, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I loved it. I forgot the bay leaves and it still turned out great. Didn't put much hot pepper sauce in because I was cooking for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I had no cayenne pepper so I put in chili pepper, and before covering it, added some thyme and oregano. Otherwise, this was prepared as directed and the entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
i was really hoping for something more and i couldn't put my finger on it until today.. i was missing the tomato.. looking around on google this morning i found out that typical cajun jambalaya doesn't have tomatoes but creole does.. who knew? i tried adding some old bay but it still didn't taste right to me.. either way.. bf enjoyed this.. i didn't care much for it.. so i'm splitting the difference.. ty for the recipe b/c now i know the difference between cajun and creole styles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Really good recipe - I read a number of reviews and settled on the following modifications....followed it all but added in a 14.5 oz can of diced toms with green chile, 1 can of rinsed and drained dark red kidney beans and about a 1/2 TBSP of Cajun seasoning. It was superb. Will definitely be making again as an easy/quick one pot spin up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Too thick and gluteny. I have tried many different recipes and have found if you use basmati rice instead of normal long grain rice the dish is lighter, healthier and above all tastier. The rice doesn't stick together in one big mushy lump as its basmati which has less gluten content. For a more traditional jambalaya you need to add 1 x chorizo sausage cut into bite size pieces, 1 whole chilli & 5 to 6 pieces of garlic minced in a crusher, 8 x mushrooms, 2 x celery stalks, 1 x red onion, 1 x red pepper, 1 x green pepper and 1 x yellow pepper. You also need 1 can of chopped tomatoes and preferably several cups of dry white wine along with a good chicken stock for the rice to absorb, homemade stock is even better. Once you have fried the vegetables right at the beginning you then need to add in the rice and fry for 2 mins so the rice absorbs all the flavour otherwise putting it in at the end is a bit pointless really. Then add in 1 x bay leaf why you ask??? I don't know ha ha but everyone puts one in so why not though I don't feel it adds anything to the dish anyway. Keep stirring is the trick with this dish otherwise it will stick on the bottom. Best utensil to use is a large wok as the heat penetrates better than a normal saucepan. Treat this dish exactly like a risotto and you won't go wrong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've made this dish several times over the past couple years, I've tweeked it a little to fit our taste. I cook the rice separately in the rice cooker with a couple bay leaves(we use brown rice). I also use anaheim chili pepper instead of the bell pepper because I don't care for bell pepper. Oh & I always add more meat & creole seasonings. Family loves it, so do I! Leftovers taste great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States