Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very good for a "quick and easy" version. The only difference is that only used half the chicken and threw in some fresh shrimp in the last few minutes of cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent and simple. I made this once and loved it. I thought it could use a little more heat so I added a haberno pepper. and a little more pepper sauce (I recommend Cholulu sauce, very tasty. While at the grocery store buying ingredients I thought "what the hey" and added some shrimp and mushrooms. Leftovers stay great and microwave up wonderfully for lunch. Good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This was really easy to make and tasted great. I will definitely only use 1 1/2 cups of rice next time, this recipe calls for way too much rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Really similar to the one I make--same proportions of rice, broth, and approx. veggies, which I love dicing very small. To spice it, I use a heaping tsp of ground thyme and cayenne ( I use the olive oil here--but more like 1 tbsp), a tbsp of garlic while sauteing the chicken, and then I also I add about a quarter cup of sweet vermouth and one bay leaf, but next time I make it, I'll try putting in 3. No worchestershire sauce for me. Perfect with a Manhattan. I have this on hand in my freezer ALL the time. It freezes great, so I freeze it in little containers and thaw the night before taking it to work. For work, I drop the Manhattan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
great!! I left out cayne pepper and salt, and the bell pepper (we were out), and turned out amazing! will definitively make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My picky 3 year old always asks for 2nds. I keep it plain since my husband doesn't like any kick to it. I load on the hot sauce for myself though. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This dish was okay. I was the only member of my family that would eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This made for a really tasty dish for Fat Tuesday. I substituted shrimp for the chicken and andouille sausage for the kielbasa, which I think is a must for authentic New Orleans cookin'. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great place to start! Add different things that you like and if you like it really spicy, this recipe needs a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is great for an average dinner with your family. My husband said it came out well. I followed the recipe except I took reviewers suggestion and cooked the rice separately. I also used brown rice, shrimp and turkey Kielbasa because I prefer that for health reasons. If you use shrimp cook them separately and add them at the end. I made a rookie mistake and added them in early on and they got a little chewy. I thought it could have used a little more heat but I like a lot of spice, next time I would add a little more hot sauce or some red child pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States