Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Easy Cajun Jambalaya Haiku: "Holy cow, this rocked. I made several small changes, but still, man, so good!" I dumped everything in the crockpot on low b4 work in the a.m. (less chick stock, no rice), and we served it w/ rice at dinnertime. I also added about 1 TB of AR's awesome "Creole Seasoning Blend", but the heart of the recipe remained the same. Husband enthusiastically proclaimed it a "keeper" after 1 bite, and I couldn't agree more. Fan.Tas.Tic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Never made Jambalaya before and used this recipe with some of the recommendations (add shrimp & tomatoes) and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I took a risk making this as my wife and youngest daughter are not into spicy food. I reduced the tabasco by 1/2, added some cajun seasoning to make up for it, and they loved it! The second time I made it, i realized towards the end I was out of rice, so I served it over pasta bow ties and added cooked shrimp at the end (not while cooking as they get rubbery) What a FANTASTIC recipe! This is one of those recipes where you never have to worry about leftovers! Thanks Grant for a real winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Louie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sagamore Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Added a can of tomatoes and green chilis as suggested by others. Gave it a nice color and zing, plus the acidic tomatoes complement the cayanne reaaly well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious recipe! I added shrimp at the end. I rinsed the rice really well before adding it to the pot and the leftovers were even better. I will be using this recipe often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Great tailgating dish! This was a big hit with my friends tailgating at the Steeler game. I cut the vegetables the night before. Grilled the kielbasa and chicken in the parking lot. Then put in a pot on the side burner. Followed the recipe for the everything else and it turned out excellent! My wife loved it so much, I made it at home the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I used less rice and added tomato juice. It was really good. My family doesn't appreciate overly spicy foods and found this really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Love this- easy and delicious! I've made this many times and often make adjustments to increase or decrease spices depending on who's coming for dinner. Also prepared with tomatoes with chilies to increase the zing and often throw in another pepper. Freezes well- thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My family loves this recipe! I add 2-14 oz cans diced tomatoes, green onions if I have them, and 1 Ilbs shrimp. This recipe does lack a few key ingredients that a true cajun flavor has so you can either purchase the ready made seasoning and add it (prob about 1 TBLS) or add the missing spices to round out your Jambalaya. Missing Ingredients: Garlic Powder, Chili Powder, Thyme and Sweet Basil. You'll need to play around with the measurements as I have not taken the time to do it myself. Good luck and happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was a good "kitchen sink" recipe. I used what I had on hand to throw into the jambalaya. I used chicken, but not kielbasa. I used only 1/2 an onion and 1/2 a green bell pepper. I omitted the celery. I used Sriracha as my hot sauce. Overall, the dish was okay. The leftovers weren't eaten, which tells me a lot. Very filling, though! I think next time I will add a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States