Easy Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe!! Finally one that doesnt call for tomatoes!!! I come from southwest Louisiana. Creole jambalaya has tomatoes, cajun does not. I prefer the cajun version, as do all in my family. I also like to use cheap cuts of pork in place or in addition to the chicken. And any kind of smoked sausage works well. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyrus Cyd Nugent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe is really great. I went with other reviewers' advice and added a can of diced tomatoes. I opted to skip the chicken and used 14 extra large shrimp which I added after cooking time and let steam up, stirring after 2 minutes, another 3 minutes, and another 5 minutes (10 minutes total elapsed time). I substituted turkey kielbasa. I also used brown rice so my cooking time was 40 minutes. I'm confident that this is a 5 star recipe based on the flavor of the dish, despite the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Really easy and tasty. Per the other reviewers' advice, I added a 14-oz can of diced tomatoes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was so easy to make and tasted good too! I left out the bell pepper and celery and added a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I also added a teaspoon and a half of Creole Seasoning and an additional two cups of chicken broth. I might try a different jambalaya recipe next time though this one was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
plus added some kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Easy and very good. Perfect amount of spice for me; my husband added cayenne to his serving and made it perfect for him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
this is a great recipes it self, i just did a small changes: i used a 1 1/4tbs of creole seasoning instead of any other spice and i added a 1/2tsp ground cumin and it turns delicious. thnx for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revere, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly but did add a can of tomatoes and cut the recipe in half because it is only my hubby and me. I also had to cut back on the cayenne and hot pepper sauce because my husband can't take spicy food. I did douse mine with a generous portion of hot sauce. This was very good. My only complaint was that the rice was a bit mushy, but that is probably my fault because I added the tomatoes. Good, cheap and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Easy Cajun Jambalaya Haiku: "Holy cow, this rocked. I made several small changes, but still, man, so good!" I dumped everything in the crockpot on low b4 work in the a.m. (less chick stock, no rice), and we served it w/ rice at dinnertime. I also added about 1 TB of AR's awesome "Creole Seasoning Blend", but the heart of the recipe remained the same. Husband enthusiastically proclaimed it a "keeper" after 1 bite, and I couldn't agree more. Fan.Tas.Tic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Never made Jambalaya before and used this recipe with some of the recommendations (add shrimp & tomatoes) and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States