Easy Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A 4-star as written. I added more tomato sauce (about 1/4 cup)and about 1/4 cup more water to it so it would not be too dry. I also added some basil and oregano to the mixture as it seemed like it would be sort of bland. This was very good and we enjoyed it. We will make it again. Went great with mashed potatoes and a bottle of cabernet franc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was just ok for me. The bacon never crisped up in the first hour and a half. I ended up removing the foil and broiling it for about 5 minutes. I did add an extra half cup of tomato sauce and water to the casserole otherwise this would have been very dry. The bacon was an interesting addition to this casserole. It was not an overpowering flavor but the whole dish was kind of bland. It could use additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was the best and easiest stuffed cabbage I have ever made. I used brown rice instead of white and cooked the rice according to directions prior to adding to the other ingredients, then put in oven. I also put in a couple shakes of cayenne pepper because I add it to almost everything I make. I did not cover with foil because I wanted the bacon to brown, and still had to turn on the broiler for a few more minutes. Will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe looked good when I read it--was looking for something a bit friendly to our low carb efforts, in casserole form. I submit recipes and don't like it when somebody makes a bunch of changes and then rates it, but let me be clear that I think this would have been a five-star keeper without my messing with it. However, let me share what I did: First, I used a bag of shredded cabbage coleslaw mix because I hate grating cabbage. One bag was perfect. Next, I did the same stuff I read in the other reviews: some Italian seasoning, sprinkle of cayenne. I used 1(15oz)can tomato sauce PLUS 1 can condensed tomato soup (healthy req), because we like that slight sweetness and depth of flavor in anything like stuffed peppers, etc. Here's the tricky part for those who lamented uncrispy bacon. I left it off while baking. Cut the bacon into small cubes and fried them crisp separately in a skillet. DRAINED well on paper towels while casserole baked. Baked in foil-covered casserole as stated, removed from oven when done, sprinkled with the smattering of crispy bacon pieces and a little shredded cheddar/colby-jack cheese. Back in oven for 5 minutes till melted cheese. IT. WAS. AWESOME. Probably the best recipe I've seen in a long time. Served with fresh broccoli steamed for 5 minutes (while cheese was melting)in a little chicken bouillon & 1tsp. butter; desert was the juiciest, fresh ripe pear you can imagine. What a great supper--thanks so much for giving us this great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by George Droopy Pollard
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is sooo much easier to make than cabbage rolls. I added a can of rotel and put pasta sauce on top to add a lil' sumn sumn to it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Droopy Pollard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I made these modifications: I used brown rice instead of white rice, doubled the garlic, added a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes, 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar, white sugar to taste, 1/4 cup of raisins and about 1/2 cup more water than recipe calls for plus 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I served this over mashed potatoes with a side of green peas. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I can't believe how dumb I was to never think of this before. It's really like an eastern European version of lasagne. Since seeing Tracy's recipe, I've made this dish at least four times. If I'd made the old-fashioned halupki, I would have never made cabbage with meat and rice at all. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hope.h

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Fantastic! I did take in consideration of other reviews. I added a can of tomato soup and seasoned tomato sauce. I thought it was going to have too much liquid but I was wrong. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States