Easy Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I liked it and I think my husband liked it even more (he probably would have given it a 5!) I think the only modification I made was using slightly less bacon, because my bacon was in really big, thick slices. Also, we did not eat the bacon, just pushed it off to the side, so it added flavor to the dish but we didn't have to worry about the texture. I agree the overall dish was somewhat dry so I could see why some people would want more sauce, but we liked it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was easy to make. I used venison and pork sausage mixed. I added more water, as suggested, but used Jasmine rice. I also didn't use tomato sauce. I pureed canned tomatoes from this fall and added basil and oregano. My husband had 3 helpings and he comes from a traditional Polish family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Labaza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I had 2 pounds of hamburger and was thinking maybe 1/2 pork might spice it up. Didn't have tomato sauce so I used spaghetti sauce and it was good....hubby a big eater, so 1/2 was eaten and 1/2 is for dinner tomorrow night.....I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I'm not a big fan of stuffed cabbage, but my husband is, so I gave this a try - we both loved it! Super easy, and surprisingly tasty and satisfying. Only change is that I added a bit of ketchup for some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
ooooo---This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I use spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato sauce, I cook the cabbage so it gets done quicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores Witt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bernie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe!! Easy, fun and different! Don't be afraid to use a lot of cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I made these modifications: I used brown rice instead of white rice, doubled the garlic, added a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes, 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar, white sugar to taste, 1/4 cup of raisins and about 1/2 cup more water than recipe calls for plus 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I served this over mashed potatoes with a side of green peas. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Fantastic! I did take in consideration of other reviews. I added a can of tomato soup and seasoned tomato sauce. I thought it was going to have too much liquid but I was wrong. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe looked good when I read it--was looking for something a bit friendly to our low carb efforts, in casserole form. I submit recipes and don't like it when somebody makes a bunch of changes and then rates it, but let me be clear that I think this would have been a five-star keeper without my messing with it. However, let me share what I did: First, I used a bag of shredded cabbage coleslaw mix because I hate grating cabbage. One bag was perfect. Next, I did the same stuff I read in the other reviews: some Italian seasoning, sprinkle of cayenne. I used 1(15oz)can tomato sauce PLUS 1 can condensed tomato soup (healthy req), because we like that slight sweetness and depth of flavor in anything like stuffed peppers, etc. Here's the tricky part for those who lamented uncrispy bacon. I left it off while baking. Cut the bacon into small cubes and fried them crisp separately in a skillet. DRAINED well on paper towels while casserole baked. Baked in foil-covered casserole as stated, removed from oven when done, sprinkled with the smattering of crispy bacon pieces and a little shredded cheddar/colby-jack cheese. Back in oven for 5 minutes till melted cheese. IT. WAS. AWESOME. Probably the best recipe I've seen in a long time. Served with fresh broccoli steamed for 5 minutes (while cheese was melting)in a little chicken bouillon & 1tsp. butter; desert was the juiciest, fresh ripe pear you can imagine. What a great supper--thanks so much for giving us this great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States