Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Really delicious recipe and easy as well. It was helpful to watch the video. I honestly wouldn't change anything about it except I'd use the whole carton of marscapone and a bit more squash, because it didn't make sense to have that tiny bit left in the container, and there was a lot of squash. The proportions do not need to be exact as long as they are close. I smashed the garlic a bit because I did want more garlic flavor. I had square wontons, so I used a round cookie cutter to make them round....but of course if you had to make these square it's no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I liked the filling quite a bit, the "ravioli" being made from wonton wrappers made them less sturdy than I would have liked. The butter sage sauce was mostly just butter...I'll make the filling again but probably not as ravioli's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McCargar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
The sage was a bit much. Instead try serving on a bed of fresh, raw baby spinach, drizzle generously with some of the garlic butter & sprinkle liberally with coarse salt. The contrast between the sweetness of the squash & the salt is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was delicious! I made it exactly as the recipe stated. The wonton wrappers are very easy to work this. Definitely a keeper! Thank you Chef John for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious and very easy to prepare! I could not find wonton wrappers in our supermarket, so I used eggroll wrappers instead. Each sheet yielded 4 or 6 ravioli, depending on how you cut them. I also replaced mascarpone with the combo of neufchatel, sour cream, and a splash of whipping cream and maple syrup recommended by another reviewer. I look forward to making these in the future, and trying the baked recommendation mentioned in one of the reviews. Thank you, Chef John, for a tasty make-at-home treat in keeping with the season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
What a treat!!!!! I made some ahead today for company and had to try some tonight - testing I call it, and wow, my husband would not stop eating.......I roasted the squash and used my dried sage, reconstituted in the microwave, and it was nice and crunchy in the butter.....really made the ravioli pop......I would not change a thing and will make it again and again......I am sure my company will enjoy tomorrow as well. Using won ton wrappers was easy peasy and saved a lot of time......Enjoy everyone....I did.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I don't like butternut squash but I loved this! I would just change putting the sage in the pan when the ravoli goes in but otherwise it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Tall Entree

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
These were really good but also a lot of work. If I knew how to make homemade pasta I think that would hold up better than the wonton skins. I made two different sauces, one the sage brown butter which was way more flavorful than I expected. The other was a self created sweeter Apple carmalized onion sauce. Both were good, the Apple one probably healthier but the sage butter was better and easier. I made all the filling and froze half the raviolis for later. I think during the boil and frying phase don't be afraid to let them cook awhile. My first couple were a bit soggier then the last few after I had some practice. I also substituted the low fat cream cheese for the marscopone cheese because of cost and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Sammon Sipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I did not use the wonton wrappers. Went straight to our Italian deli where they cut pasta from cappellini to pappardelle. Purchase two uncut sheets and made traditional ravioli instead. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States