Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
These were super delicious! This will definitely be a regular item on my family's dinner menu. My only gripe about this recipe is the delicacy of the won ton wrapper. It took several tries to prevent tearing and to sufficently seal the edges together. Once mastered though, this recipe rocked! I followed another reviewer's advice and used a generous amount of cayenne pepper which gave the ravioli a nice kick. In case anyone else doesn't have mascarpone cheese stocked in their fridge, a mixture of 8 oz. cream cheese, 2 1/2 tbs sour cream, and 1/4 c. heavy whipping cream in lieu of the mascarpone cheese works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. It is finally the ravioli I crave from my favorite Italian restaurant. The brown butter sage sauce is perfect. I did use acorn squash instead of butternut because that is what I had. I also made some changes that made this a little healthier. I used 2 oz. of Neufatel cheese (a lower fat cream cheese) and two tablespoons of Parmesan instead of the cheese suggested. I also used a teaspoon of maple syrup in the mixture. Lastly, I topped the ravioli with roasted walnuts and served it with a spinach salad and roasted brussel sprouts. This takes a little longer than implied, but so worth the time investment. I great vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
delicious! the cayenne pepper doesn't really do much in terms of heat or flavor, so i either add a big pinch of it or a big pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. didn't do the sage butter sauce, but rather just tossed in butter and topped with freshly grated parmesan. the raviolis come out delicate and subtle, with a comforting butternut squash taste. SO good. will definitely make again and again. oh, also this recipe made a lot so i froze a bunch (laid out on a baking sheet to freeze then threw them all in a bag) and cooked about 3 min, until the raviolis floated to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne W.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great recipe! 1 large butternut squash yielded 2 cups and therefore I doubled the filling recipe. I did not use an egg yolk, but it did not matter. Added a little extra cayenne just to give it a slight kick. I was unable to purchase wonton wrappers and instead purchased a 16 oz package of egg roll wrappers. Cut into quarters and made triangle shaped ravioli. The doubled filling was perfect for the amount of wrappers I had. Used about 3/4 of a teaspoon of filling in each wrapper. The fresh snipped sage and fresh peppered parmesan were elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Yum yum yum!!! Fantastic flavors and very easy to make. I too omitted the egg yolk and added extra cayenne pepper. Wonton wrappers are key! I actually have a dumpling press so that little guy made making this dish super easy. My boyfriend LOVED this. It's a perfect seasonal, homey recipe. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was delicious. The first time you cook something like this is always a learning curve. So hopefully this will help your first time be perfect. First, less is more. Putting more than the teaspoon recommended makes the ravioli too rich. We all preferred the raviolis with less butternut squash mixture. Secondly, when you cook the raviolis in butter, do only one layer at a time. Otherwise the raviolis stick. I would do two batches with half of the butter in each. Lastly, I substituted the mascarpone cheese for light cream cheese, and it was delicious! Thanks for a recipe that we will surely make again - for simple family dinners and important guests alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was delicious! The only thing I changed was a little more cayenne pepper (as a spice-junkie, I couldn't help myself) and I diced the garlic clove and threw it in with the butter/sage combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I tried this out this weekend on my hubby and very picky teenage daughter. This is the first recipe I have rated online; I just HAD to say how fabulous it was and super easy. My daughter had two servings (which she rarely does, especially with new dishes) I made the ravioli as is, but varied the sauce a bit. Browned the butter, added garlic, then a couple dashes of white wine, hot pepper flakes, and cream. Reduced and served on ravioli. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
More cheesy tasting than I expected, but certainly not a detriment. If you can't find mascarpone cheese, I think cream cheese would be an okay sub. The taste is a little different, but not a deal breaker. The raviolis I'd had of this type before were more sweet, so I sprinkled the top with cinnamon in addition to the parmesan, and I added pears cooked with brown sugar as a garnish, made it extra tasty. I froze a lot of them to save for later, they still taste great. I just placed them on a cookie sheet in the freezer until they were hard enough to transfer to a freezer bag. Easy. You don't have to fry them up in butter if you're looking to save calories (it's just that butter makes everything taste good)--I did it both with and without. The wonton wrappers are a perfect substitute. It's definitely a recipe you must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Took a while to assemble, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States