Easy Brownie Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I had the same problem as the previous reviewer (spread too much, impossible to scrape off the cookie sheet without breaking), until I let the dough refrigerate overnight, after whichitit turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Fliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Really easy to make!!! Wonderfully moist! YUM. Followed this recipe to a tee without complaints :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Made these as the recipe stated. They came out very moist. They were very easy to throw together. I actually prefer these to the regular boxed brownie! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I just made these the other day with my 3-year-old daughter and they really were super easy! A few people mentioned that their cookies spread out too much. After making these myself I have a few factors for future bakers of this recipe to consider. I just happened to read this recipe the day before seeing brownie mix on sale at the grocery store, so I just picked up the box with trying this recipe in mind. However, the recipe calls for "1 (19.8 ounce) package brownie mix" and when I got home and checked out my box of Duncan Hines Extra Thick & Fudgy mix it was only 18.3 oz. This got me thinking, how will this affect my results? First, the recipe calls for just a box of brownie mix, thus I think it might be important to consider the "style" of brownie mix you are using-there is a lot of variety out there. AND my mix weighed one (1) ounce less than the recipe called for. I hadn't thought about the fact that NOT all boxed brownie mixes are created equal until I cam across this recipe. To compensate I played around with adding a little bit more all purpose flour (one tablespoon at a time)to make sure my dough was thick. I also skipped the part about greasing my baking sheets and just used parchment paper. The cookies came out perfect, they did not spread out too much or anything. Very chewy, yummy, and easy to make. I think this is a great recipe to do baking with kids or for a new "baker" trying to gain confidence by baking "outside the box"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Did not work for me. Cookies spred out way too much in the oven. Stuck to the pan really bad. If I were to make again I would put in way more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These cookies were amazing. I did as another suggested and I refrigerated them overnight and then cooked them for about 10 minutes (until the tops were cracked.) They were gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My mix was also 18.3oz. Followed recipe with these changes. To compensate for the 1/4 cup flour, I added a tablespoon of sugar. I cut back on the water to only add 2 tspn water and 2 tsp vanilla. Dough was not runny and a good cookie consistency. They turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
If you love the corner pieces of regular brownies you might actually enjoy these cookies.I used way more than 1/4 cup of flour, but I couldn't tell you how much I ended up using; I just kept adding flour until I got the cookie dough consistency I was looking for. Because I did THAT, the first batch of cookies was a little bland. I added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the rest of the batter and that seemed to help. These are not the BEST cookies I have ever made, but I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Tried this recipe before and it just didn't work for me. Cookies spread out too thinly and just weren't the consistency I was looking for. So I made some changes and they turned out fabulous. I did use the 19.8 oz box of brownie mix but added 1 cup of flour, 2 tablespoons of sugar, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 tablespoon of vanilla, 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1/2 cup of water and only 1 egg. They hold their shape well, rise just enough and come out like brownie cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I read the reviews about the trouble with the batter being to thin, so I accommodated by making these more like a cookie than a brownie. I omitted the vegetable oil and used Crisco instead. Creamed the 1/4 cup of Crisco and eggs together, then added the brownie mix (18.3), and 1/4 cup flour and 2 tbsp. of water. Then stir in the chocolate chips. Basked as directed. The result is a moist, puffy cookie! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States