Easy Brownie Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Tried this recipe before and it just didn't work for me. Cookies spread out too thinly and just weren't the consistency I was looking for. So I made some changes and they turned out fabulous. I did use the 19.8 oz box of brownie mix but added 1 cup of flour, 2 tablespoons of sugar, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 tablespoon of vanilla, 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1/2 cup of water and only 1 egg. They hold their shape well, rise just enough and come out like brownie cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Regret wasting the time and materials. They kept spreading until they created a thin coating at the bottom of the pan. I was skeptical when I saw how thin the batter was, should have stopped at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe with some modifications and it renders some really good cookies. I used an 18.3oz box of brownie mix, plus 1/2 cup flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 2 Tbsp coffee instead of water, 1tsp almond extract (didn't have vanilla on hand but would have used it too), 2 eggs, 1/4 c. oil, pinch of cinnamon, and about 2/3 c. sweetened coconut flakes. In a 350 degree oven for 12 minutes on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and then cool out of the oven on the same cookie sheet for two minutes before transferring to a baking rack lined with paper towels. The hint of cinnamon and coffee lend layers to the chocolate and the coconut gives texture. I am sure some walnuts or pecans would be a good addition too. Thanks to the author of this original recipe for the start-up info!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is my go to recipe for when I need a quick chocolaty dessert. I use ghirardelli brownie mix (double and triple fudge ftw!). Definitely try experimenting with this by adding different types of chips and candies. I made them exactly as is plus a few extra chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Used white chips instead of chocolate chips. Used fudge brownie mix. Cookies stuck horribly to the tray even though I sprayed the pan first lightly then heavily. Taste was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This worked out great for me after I refrigerated the dough for about an hour. Didn't change anything else. Delicious!! Especially the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
they turned out AMAZING! but i had to cut the recipe in half because i had a small package of brownie mix. but they were great very chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
ok -- these are not going to be the best cookies you've ever eaten, but they are SUPER easy. A couple things you need to pay attention to: it calls for a 19.8 ounce box of brownie mix. If your brownie mix does not have 19.8 ounces, you need to add flour to get it up to 19.8 ounces. When you add the liquids and start stirring you are going to think, this will never come together, I need to add more water. You don't -- just keep working it, it will come together! I added reeses pieces - awesome. they are very good - especially warm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My mix was also 18.3oz. Followed recipe with these changes. To compensate for the 1/4 cup flour, I added a tablespoon of sugar. I cut back on the water to only add 2 tspn water and 2 tsp vanilla. Dough was not runny and a good cookie consistency. They turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I really enjoyed these cookies, but had to add an extra 1/4 cup of flour to prevent them from running together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cOoKiEcRaZy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States