Easy Blackberry Crumble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
The ingredient measures were inaccurate and the end result was soggy and way-too-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Pretty good. I used cranberries instead of blackberries--what I had--but quadrupled the suagar as cranberries are much tarter than blackberries. I also heeded the reviews and baked this in an 8x8 pan--made for a thick batter and cobbler. Hubs thought this was okay and I did too. I liked the tartness of the cranberries, but I think blackberries or raspberries probably would be better. However, no reason to dock this recipe as a result. I think it was a nice cobbler. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I didn't read the reviews before I made this cake. I found that I needed way more milk that was stated in recipe and that a 9X13 pan seemed a little big. Now I know for next time. I have tons of wild blackberries so I know I'll try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Amazing and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this in a 9 x 9 pan and doubled the blackberries and milk. I had to bake it 40 minutes to completely cook in the middle. I also sprinkled a few walnut pieces on top. Everyone loved it! It was good with ice cream on top or alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This recipe doesn't match up. I changed it a little as a went but this is the first time ive made this, so the bottom ended up gummy because there wasn't enough milk. im sure if you changed the recipe it would be delicious though! advice: read other reviews before starting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I just made a cobbler using a recipe that is the same as this -- didn't call for any milk, used only 1/4 c. of flour, actually melted the butter and mixed it in with the oatmeal and other dry ingredients, and added 2 ripe peaches cut into small pieces, and it was delicious. Even with those proportions an 8x8 pan was too big. Will make in a smaller, oblong or round pan next time. Definitely gave it 5 stars, and my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sldavis86
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The other reviewer was right, the proportions for this were WAY off! however, with a few altercations if is FABULOUS!! I used an 8.5x11 inch pan, and there's no way 1 cup of blackberries would be enough for even that. I used two medium tubs (12oz apiece) of blackberries, which means I also doubled the sugar (it's still early in the season though, so my berries were still pretty tart; it needed it) mixed with them. The bottom "crust" batter was very thick, almost pastelike, even though I added about 3/4 cup of milk. It was still delicious though, just saying, you WILL need more than 1/4 cup of milk. I also like a lot of crumble so I doubled the oats and brown sugar mixture. The bottom dough wasn't even close to done at 30 minutes, so I had to put it back in for another 20 minutes. I think next time I'll try it at 375 or maybe even 400, as the top wasn't very crispy, either. I shaved a cold stick of butter to lay on top of the crumble. Now, that is a lot of altercations, but it made a hearty cobbler and the taste was PHENOMENAL! I especially like the addition of oats, which makes it more crumbly instead of cakey, like some of the other recipes I'd looked at. We ate it with scoops of ice cream. It's pretty rich, so I wouldn't serve yourself too much, although it's tempting! :) Enjoy! I added a picture since there was none (white bowl with a scoop of ice cream added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sldavis86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I increased the milk to 1/2 cup and used a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I loved the basic concept of this cake but the ingredient amounts are way off for a 9x13 pan. I had to double the milk to get a reasonable batter and I also doubled the blackberries. Still a very thin cake - I'd make it again but in a 9x9 pan. The topping is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States