Easy Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Came out perfect! I followed exact and only used 8 oz of cream and they came out tall and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ravensgyrl27
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I followed everyone's advice and added the 2 packs of cream cheese, egg, sugar, and vanilla extract. I had extra cream cheese left over, so I think 1.5 packs are good enough to use. The chocolate chips made a gooey center! All in all-they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made it with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I know the recipe said to fill the cups 1/3 full; however, cake mixes produce enough batter to fill the cups 2/3 full and this is what I did because my oven can only bake 2 dozen at a time and I didn't have time to run multiple baking cycles. I followed the most helpful review's recipe for the cheesecake part, which meant doubling the cream cheese. This made the cupcakes "overflow" and the cheesecake part wasn't as cooked as the cupcake part. It had a squishy texture but I didn't want to continue baking because the chocolate cupcakes would burn. I do think it is essential to add an egg to the cheesecake mixture but I think it is a mistake to use 16 oz of cream cheese if you are only making 2 dozen cupcakes. If I were do make these again, for the cheesecake mixture I would follow this other recipe instead, which requires less sugar and only 8 oz of cream cheese: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Black-Bottom-Cupcakes-I Doubling the cream cheese wasn't the fault of this recipe but I'm only giving it 2 stars because the egg is clearly missing from the cheesecake mixture, the sugar needs to be reduced (shouldn't be 1:1 ratio with cream cheese) and the number of servings is either a) incorrect or b) you're only going to use half of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
My husband loves these! I do double the cream cheese recipe as many have suggested. My only complaint is they do not look like the picture. My cream cheese mixture always sinks to the middle and I'm not sure why. However, despite the appearance they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I am conflicted about these cupcakes. On the one hand, they taste good, but on the other, they did not turn out like they're supposed to. I followed the recipe exactly except added a little vanilla extract to the cake mix. When they baked, the cream cheese mixture sunk straight to the bottom of the cupcake so I ended up with "cream cheese bottom cupcakes" rather than "black bottom cupcakes." It's impossible to get them out of the cupcake paper unless they're cold. The good thing is that they taste pretty good and I like the texture of the cream cheese. It is very creamy. I don't know, maybe an egg would have made the filling not sink to the bottom? It would have changed the texture too which I'm not sure I would have liked. Also to me the amount of filling in each cupcake is just right. Next time I am going to experiment with leaving out the chocolate chips (I used minis but still don't like the crunchy texture of them when cold) and try just baking the cupcakes like normal and then piping the sweetened cream cheese into the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I happen to like the reviews that add or subtract things b/c it helps me know what worked for them and what didn't. I was looking for this recipe but also like adding extra cream cheese and an egg and tea. of vanilla. These are great cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Why do people insist on changing/adding to/subtracting from/substituting in recipes AND THEN RATING THE RECIPE ?? Do us all a favour and stop it. If you want to post your "new and improved" (more often "new and destroyed") recipe, go ahead, but hijacking the original recipe with your "improvements" is really obnoxious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I like them and my son loves them. They just take some time to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Best cupcakes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States