Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love this biscuit recipe. I opted to use butter instead of shortening. I think butter has more flavor. I think this is a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were OK. The flavor was good, but they turned out like hockey pucks. I followed other user's advice by: using half wheat flour and half white, using butter instead of shortening, putting them close together so they would bake up instead of out and by using regular flour and adding 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. My biscuits did not rise. At all. I was expecting them to be big and fluffy. Perhaps it's because I didn't follow recipe exactly. I will give it another chance and follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was a ver easy recipe, but like other reviews it was kinda bland. But along with the sausage and gravy recipe also from this site they were wonderful. I will prolly try to adjust it like others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Trying my hand in the kitchen for the first real time in my adult life, I was drawn to this recipe for it's simplicity. I followed the directions as is, and my first batch came out hard and burned. After reading some of the other reviews, I modified by adding a tablespoon of sugar and a dash of salt, and I reduced the cook time to about 17 minutes. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjlockwood

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Saint Robert, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious! I only had enough self rising for 1 recipe, but needed to double it as I have a large family. So I used the SR flour I had and then added 2 1/4 C. all purpose flour, a 1/2T. salt. 1t. baking powder and 3/4 t. baking soda. I also added 2 T. of sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I baked them in a baking pan very close to each other and they rose perfectly! Nice taste too! OH! And I used butter flavored Crisco :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I haven't made biscuits since I was a teenager but this was super easy! My family loved them. My husband said they were better than Bojangles (a real compliment coming from him). I love that there are only three ingredients. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It came out as a thin soup and then I doubled the flour and shortening, then I tripled the flour and and shortening and still it was just runny. Worst case: I could have been distracted and doubled the milk (I think I might have b/c the phone rang just when i started putting things together), but then the extra floor and shortening would have corrected the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These came out wonderful! I agree use some flour to roll it on to make it less wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These were definetly easy, but mine were a little flat. Taste was good with gravy but my daughter didn't like them with butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I use this recipe every time I need to make biscuits and it's always a big hit. Can also put them in a cupcake/muffin pan and use them as dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States