Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
NOT good at all. Followed instructions exactly with the appropriate flour, no subs.. Biscuits were flat as a pancake and didn't cook inside.. the fact people sai they tasted like kfc had me hooked.. BOOO.. no thanks.. gonna try a different recipe.. won't be making these again.. For the headache I could have had bisquick ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this about once a month.. I LOVE THIS SOOO MUCH!!! I did take the advice of some of those in the comments but other than that love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eviltopia
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Fantastic little recipe. I used butter instead of shortening. I have never made biscuits before and this was a nice easy way to start. I will be adding this to my recipe book. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eviltopia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I used the following suggestions from other reviewers since I don't have a great history with biscuits: added 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder to regular all-purpose flour, used butter instead of shortening, and baked close together to help the biscuits bake straight up. This is the first biscuit recipe that I have had success with! Thanks Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good and easy recipe. I doubled it, and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
My biscuits did NOT turn out well... but I suspect that my baking powder was too old. The flavor of the biscuits was good, but they didn't rise at all, so they were really dense. I'll try it again with new baking powder and see if I have a different result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love the simplicity of this recipe! I had to make my own self rising flour even though I am a fan of White Lily. I even ran out of AP flour, and had to dig into a new bag of bread flour to get the last 1/4 cup and to flour the board I used for shaping the dough. I skipped the wax paper obviously. I added a teaspoon of salt and used lard (and admitted to it). I made my own "buttermilk" with milk and white vinegar. I skipped the wax paper. As far as patting the dough down I did it maybe 4 times. The less you handle this dough the better. I sprinkled a little more bread flour on top of the dough after patting it out to make the dough less sticky and easier to handle. I think it's very difficult to get 12 biscuits out of this recipe. I got 13, but I had to cut them very small. I combined the last two and that biscuit came out the best. Some of the biscuits did not rise as much as I wanted, but I think that was because I spaced them out. The biscuits that rose were placed so that they touched. We also sprayed the baking sheet and the tops of the biscuits with cooking spray. These tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These came out perfect! The recipe is missing a couple of points.......cut the shortening into the flour first, then add the milk. DON'T OVERWORK the dough! 2-3 gentle kneads is all you need, or your biscuits will be hockey pucks! I did add a pinch of salt and a bit of sugar but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Mine rose up high, were light and flaky. Perfect recipe to add chopped chives and crumbled bacon. YUM! Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gourmet Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made them this morning in a pinch! Great easy recipe and they taste great too!... I could see me playing with this recipe to see what i can do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States