Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We love this super simple recipe. I do use butter instead of shortening like other reviewers had suggested. Also, once they are out of the oven, I brush melted butter over them. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
1 cup milk was way too much! Had to add almost another cup of flour. Otherwise came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I read the reviews that say these biscuits have not much flavour. Yet it's such an easy recipe that I simply had to try. So I made them with garlic powder, oregano, 1/2 tsp salt and grated Parmesan. Delicious. Then I tried with cinnamon powder and raisins. Wow, tasted fantastic with my morning coffee. These are so easy to make that you just can't go wrong. I've also made them with grated apples and cinnamon, chopped olives and rosemary, and sundried tomatoes and onion powder. The possibilities are endless. I'm still experimenting. Once I didn't have enough butter. I only had about 100g. No problem. They turned out fluffy and good. As suggested by another reviewer, I always pat them out thinner and stack 2 together. They pull apart easily for buttering and look nice. Do use buttermilk/sour milk if you have them. You'll love the final product. This is so much easier and tastes just as good as any scones recipes I've tried. I whipped them up in less than 15 mins, bake them for 18 mins (my oven) and have hot biscuits for tea or breakfast. Best way to impress last minute guests who come to tea/coffee. Brilliant basic recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is similiar to my recipe I have free handed for years. My secret ingredient is buttermilk instead of plain milk. I wont even make biscuits if I dont have buttermilk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My mother made these my whole life using much the same ingredients plus grated extra old cheese. Love them, three thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a fast and friendly recipe - it may easily be adapted by adding grated cheese and garlic, or even changing to buttermilk, but the one key element to making biscuits that will rise properly is to cut them straight down - do not use a twisting motion...such a little thing, but so important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Used this recipe to top a chicken pot pie, and it was delicious! I used melted butter instead of shortening and mixed until combined, then "kneaded" the dough a little (mostly just folding it over and mushing it out) to give it a "layered" effect. I only had regular flour, so I had to add baking soda, baking powder, and salt to make it like self-rising flour, but these were yummy and then some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Absolutely perfect recipe for sausage biscuits and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crudnick87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We love it . Especially my 10 yr old daughter .it was easy enough for her to do it with my help and she loves them . I did take one of the tips and use butter. I had a squeeze bottle of "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter". Which made it easy for my daught to measure it. Thanks Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
So quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States