Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
What a waste of flour, crisco, milk and time! These were flat, greasy and tasteless!!! Definitely will not make again ever!!! Don't waste your time with this one -- just look for another recipe that actually works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Recipe was perfect as is. Tastes just like KFC biscuits. Simple and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Not a bad recipe! I think I'll keep it for next time. Easy, simple to use. I really like it. I made drop biscuits with it. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cometgirl63
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I used cold butter instead of shortening, and only 3/4 cup of milk. I put the self rising flour in my kitchenaid with the diced butter and used the paddle to cut the butter in. Then I kept it on low speed and slowly poured the milk in until it came together. That's how I only used 3/4 cup. I dusted the counter with all purpose flour and patted flat, folded over, patted flat, folded over a couple of times. I think the all purpose flour keeps it from getting tough. I used my medium sized cutter, brushed the tops with melted butter before and after baking. They were baked at 425 convection for about 15 minutes. Both my husband and I thought they were delicious both times I've made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
these worked perfectly for piggies in a blanket with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The first batch i made i used wax paper to bake on, which was an awful idea. The following batches were fair, they didn't rise how i wanted and were really thick. If i were to make again i would use yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe did not work out for me. They did not rise as high as the photos suggested about 10% higher than when they were put in the oven. Followed the recipe without tweaking, very easy to put together, worked the dough to a minimum just till all ingredients were together. I was expecting a fluffier biscuit. Also the shortening I thought was too much at 3/4 cup turned out heavy could not eat any more! Will have to look for a recipe that suits my fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've made these twice now. Usually I buy pilsbury but they are so expensive for flour bisquits I thought I'd try my own. I do not have a bisquite cutter so I used a glass. The first time I rolled out my flour to thin so they were flaky but to thin and a bit crisp from doing so. The second time I made them, I made them fatter. I suppose mine were quite a bit bigger and thicker than they were intended and I had to cook them ten minutes longer. Either way everyone loved them. I did notice several people mentioning a lack of flavor...not sure what tehy were looking for being they were flavorful and we always add jams, honey, butter or applebutter to ours. Either way we really enjoyed them and will def make again. Super easy and super quick. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RatherBeCooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These turned out great. I didn't have self-rising flour so I took the advice of previous posters and added baking powder and baking soda. I also added 1/2 teaspoon salt. I used shortening but I put it in the freezer for a few minutes to make sure it was really cold. I pulled mine at 20 minutes, they were a bit dark and any longer they would have burned. I would suggest checking them at 15 minutes if your oven cooks fast. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We love this super simple recipe. I do use butter instead of shortening like other reviewers had suggested. Also, once they are out of the oven, I brush melted butter over them. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States