Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Loved how simple this recipe was, and the biscuits were good, if a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbrza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I also substituted grated butter instead of shortning, and added 1/4 cup more milk. Nice & soft & excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is great for biscuit beginners or folks like me who just can't make biscuits. I followed the recipe to a "T", but I doubled it and made them in a baking pan rather than on a cookie sheet. You'll definitely want to pat the dough rather than rolling it. If it's too sticky, just add a little more flour to the outside of the dough. I think I cut the dough to about a inch thickness. Folding the dough over was a great idea. The biscuits come right apart for adding butter, jam, gravy, or whatever you like. These truly taste like restaurant biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Quick. Easy. Tasty. I used half butter & half Crisco. I wasn't sure how thick to make them. They were probably half inch or less, so they werent all that thick, but only took about 15 minutes to bake. I would say if you place the biscuits so that they touch in the pan, you can expect them to double in thickness. Just guessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These were really good. I used salted real butter in place of the shortening because I was out. These turned out light and flaky inside and slightly crispy outside. I cooked them only 17 minutes because they were already browned. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I think this is a good, simple biscuit recipe. I did use butter instead of shortening for more flavor. Next time I will use buttermilk instead of regular milk. My biscuits turned out light and fluffy. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
They turned out awesome!! Very tasty, added just a touch of butter to the top when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I altered the recipe and they came out delicious. I added less shortening, butter, baking powder, and baking soda. They were very light, fluffy and moist on the inside. I will definately be making them again. Love them thanks alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I never buy the store-bought mix anymore. I do add baking soda, powder and salt to reg flour and use butter rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my first attempt at making homemade biscuits. It was very simple to make. I think I should have doubled it and made a thicker biscuit. I think next time I'll use the suggestion someone else left with rolling it thinner and then putting two on top of each other for baking. These went very good with homemade cherry jam :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States