Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These were too dry, not flakey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliads

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a great basic recipe, but would be better if you use lard or butter depending upon your taste preferences, as shortening will not add any flavor and be bland. To address other reviewers, self-rising flour has baking power/soda in it and should rise nicely, but if your self-rising flour is too old it will lose its potency. It may have even sat in the grocery store too long. Also, to add sugar to a biscuit is plain WRONG. You do that with rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Just like KFC! substituted butter for shortening, very easy to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Terrible. Where is the salt, the baking powder, etc.. Mine were flat and under cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very easy, and tasty, I did add sugar, baking powder and baking soda, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 shortening, was not watery at all, and may I suggest to those who claim it tasted to much like flour to taste the dough before cooking so you will know if you need to add anything else, thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacepie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very Bland. The ease of the biscuits does not makeup for the lack of flavor. Tasted like flour and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These did not turn out so good. Even with self-rising flour, these biscuits didn't rise. I still tasted, but they were very plain. I ended up eating just two or three bites of one. Thanks for trying to find an easier way to make biscuits, but I think i will stick to the more conventional recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
My husband made these for me (he is a novice cook) and didn't realize we had all purpose flour vs self rising flour.... so they were pretty dense. We will add some baking powder and baking soda to our next batch (to equal the self-rising flour). Also used butter instead of shortnening. *ADD SALT- they are very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
i have made many biscuit recipes and this one was not to my liking. very runny and had to use a lot more flour. not to mention they didn't rise-lack of baking soda or powder in the recipe, which i didn't realize at first. they also fell apart when trying to eat them. taste-bland unless with butter or jam. wouldn't recommend or make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Loved how simple this recipe was, and the biscuits were good, if a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbrza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States