Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by RobinandDave
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Nice and light biscuits... I used saved bacon grease as shortening and it added a nice kind of salty flavor. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinandDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
So.....i had a friend cook these and they came out block hard, but she overmixed the dough. I made them and they flaked nicely. The key is nit to overmix the dough. Add in butter and flour first to make a crumb mixture then gently fold in mix. Pat it down, do not roll out with a roller. Add a little baking powder an use buttermilk for more rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Done in 15min in my oven! Just made these and they satisfied my biscuit craving! Used Parkay margarine and only a heaping 1/2 cup (3/4c is ALOT). Also used a trusty hand mixer to blend it all. They turned out perfect; not too bland or floury and not too greasy. Also very soft. Set the timer for 15min and had to pull 'em within 1 min of the beeep. Glad to find a good use for my self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Bland and greasy. Forget trying to modify it with other reviewer's suggestions to make it better. The best way to make these "Easy Biscuits" is to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These were too dry, not flakey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliads

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is a great basic recipe, but would be better if you use lard or butter depending upon your taste preferences, as shortening will not add any flavor and be bland. To address other reviewers, self-rising flour has baking power/soda in it and should rise nicely, but if your self-rising flour is too old it will lose its potency. It may have even sat in the grocery store too long. Also, to add sugar to a biscuit is plain WRONG. You do that with rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Just like KFC! substituted butter for shortening, very easy to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Terrible. Where is the salt, the baking powder, etc.. Mine were flat and under cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
very easy, and tasty, I did add sugar, baking powder and baking soda, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 shortening, was not watery at all, and may I suggest to those who claim it tasted to much like flour to taste the dough before cooking so you will know if you need to add anything else, thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Dow Monahan PierreLoui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very Bland. The ease of the biscuits does not makeup for the lack of flavor. Tasted like flour and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States