Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These came out perfect! The recipe is missing a couple of points.......cut the shortening into the flour first, then add the milk. DON'T OVERWORK the dough! 2-3 gentle kneads is all you need, or your biscuits will be hockey pucks! I did add a pinch of salt and a bit of sugar but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Mine rose up high, were light and flaky. Perfect recipe to add chopped chives and crumbled bacon. YUM! Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ellis Timmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made them this morning in a pinch! Great easy recipe and they taste great too!... I could see me playing with this recipe to see what i can do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love this biscuit recipe. I opted to use butter instead of shortening. I think butter has more flavor. I think this is a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were OK. The flavor was good, but they turned out like hockey pucks. I followed other user's advice by: using half wheat flour and half white, using butter instead of shortening, putting them close together so they would bake up instead of out and by using regular flour and adding 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. My biscuits did not rise. At all. I was expecting them to be big and fluffy. Perhaps it's because I didn't follow recipe exactly. I will give it another chance and follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was a ver easy recipe, but like other reviews it was kinda bland. But along with the sausage and gravy recipe also from this site they were wonderful. I will prolly try to adjust it like others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Trying my hand in the kitchen for the first real time in my adult life, I was drawn to this recipe for it's simplicity. I followed the directions as is, and my first batch came out hard and burned. After reading some of the other reviews, I modified by adding a tablespoon of sugar and a dash of salt, and I reduced the cook time to about 17 minutes. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjlockwood

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Saint Robert, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious! I only had enough self rising for 1 recipe, but needed to double it as I have a large family. So I used the SR flour I had and then added 2 1/4 C. all purpose flour, a 1/2T. salt. 1t. baking powder and 3/4 t. baking soda. I also added 2 T. of sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I baked them in a baking pan very close to each other and they rose perfectly! Nice taste too! OH! And I used butter flavored Crisco :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I haven't made biscuits since I was a teenager but this was super easy! My family loved them. My husband said they were better than Bojangles (a real compliment coming from him). I love that there are only three ingredients. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It came out as a thin soup and then I doubled the flour and shortening, then I tripled the flour and and shortening and still it was just runny. Worst case: I could have been distracted and doubled the milk (I think I might have b/c the phone rang just when i started putting things together), but then the extra floor and shortening would have corrected the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhumphrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States