Easy Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
It's true. They came out like the KFC biscuits. If yours didn't, here are a few tips: 1. Be sure your self-rising flour is fresh. 2. Double the recipe and pat (not roll) dough out thick. 3. Place close together in baking pan so as they bake, they will touch sides and bake upwards instead of flattening out. My husband said to keep this recipe in our files! Thanks a bunch! Oops, but I should mention that I made these with butter instead of shortening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
606 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda to my regular all purpose flour, and these came out very nicely. They do taste very PLAIN, but they were *perfect* for biscuits and gravy, and I imagine they would be good with jam or honey as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a good basic bisquit recipe. My favorite part of it was the idea to double the dough. Instead of doubling it, I rolled mine thin and placed one one bisquit ontop of another. This allowed them to pull apart nicely for butter and jelly. I'll do this with all my bisquits from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
These biscuits were so easy and turned out just the way I wanted! I've tried dozens of recipes and always end up with hard, dry biscuits. These turned out light and fluffy and tasted great with country gravy or jam. I didn't have the self-rising flour so I used regular flour and added about 1 tablespoon of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt. These rose nicely and because of folding the dough over before cutting, they were easy to separate into halves for buttering after baking. My oven runs a little warm, so I only needed to bake for about 15 minutes. Yummy! Thanks, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
this were perfect! i have made several batches for my family & they loved them! good, easy & quick! i used butter flavored crisco & they come out even flakier & tastier!!! try this recipe, today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
These were okay. Plain they were flavorless. With butter and jam they were good. If you don't have self rising flour, use all purpose flour and add 1 teaspoon baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. Next time I make these I will add butter to the dough for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very easy! An easy, good recipe for first time biscuit makers! Or people like me who have a hard time making biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladewater, Texas, USA
Living In: Kilgore, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Thanks Brenda...I needed an easy and good biscuit recipe.This one filled the menu nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
recipe was real wet, needed alot more flour. I was almost out of flour so mine didn't turn out to great, may try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was a ver easy recipe, but like other reviews it was kinda bland. But along with the sausage and gravy recipe also from this site they were wonderful. I will prolly try to adjust it like others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happily-a-Peterman

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States