Easy Biscuit Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
These are SO yummy! Remind me a lot of KFC biscuits, but better! To make these I scaled it down to 6. Then I used 1 cup of milk, mixed it into the mixture until soft dough formed. Then I put it down on a floured surface, knead 10 times. Then rolled out to 1/2 inch thick, and cut with a biscuit cutter. I baked in 450 degree oven for 8-10 minutes. Then I made the Honey butter recipe from this site to put on them. YUMMMMM. My family gobbled them up! Thanks for the awesome recipe!Will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXYJAS
Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This is a terrific biscuit mix! I have used it three times over the weekend for biscuits and pancakes and find it to be a light fluffy biscuit, far superior to its commercial mix inspiration (which is w-a-y too salty!). I took a reviewer's suggestion and put it in the 3 lb shortening container which works well. The 10c amount is too big for the container but the excess was quickly used up! To clear up some confusion, I did not know what to do with the mix to make the biscuits so I found the bisquick site and here is what works well: BISCUITS 2 1/4 c mix 2/3 c milk Bake at 450 degrees and 12 mins (in my oven). PANCAKES 2 c mix 1 c milk 2 egs For more recipes, go to the www.bisquick.com website. The biscuits fluffed up about double in size and were absolutely delicious. Enjoy, and thanks Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This is the ONLY recipe we have ever rated a 5 because we have found that all recipes can be changed and improved. We have been buying Bisquick and spending approximately $5 on a large box. We even did the math and came up with us having spent approximately $3.05 to make this recipe which is about equivalent to a large box of Bisquick. Overall, the homemade baking mix actually did a BETTER job on pancakes (which is a big weekend breakfast treat for our kids) and did good on biscuits. Also did EXCELLENT on the Cheddar Bay Biscuits in Allrecipes. Only thing to keep in mind regarding biscuits is to not try to do half of the recipe for less biscuits. You need the whole recipe so your biscuits will be of a good size and thickness. Something else to keep in mind on this recipe: if you are fortunate enough to have a KitchenAid mixer we really recommend using it to prepare this mix. Use the wire wisk attachment and it is so easy to do. Only thing is unless you have a really large mixer bowl, would suggest preparing mix in half quantities so as not to get flour everywhere. ENJOY! Janet, we truly appreciate you sharing this recipe with us. What a find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Excellent! Baked up really high and were very tender. We replaced the shortening with butter and made enough for one batch of 6 biscuits. We baked them for 10 mins. at 450. After making these many times we have found that they freeze beautifully! We just put the leftover biscuits in a freezer bag and pull out however many we need a bit before dinner; I wrap them in foil and heat them in the oven. They are as good as freshly made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This recipe is AWESOME. Personally, I used 2 cups of this mix per 3/4 cup of buttermilk. That makes great biscuits and a great topping for chicken pot pie! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe with us!!!! Natalie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These were great and fast! I halved the recipie and added 2 cups of milk to turn the biscuits into dough. I then kneeded 10 times, rolled the dough out to 1/2-inch thick, cut the biscuits into circles, brushed the tops with butter, and baked at 375 degrees for 10 minutes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have been making Biscuit Mix for years and this is a good one. After cooking for 5 boys for what seemed like forever, It's just Hubby and I now. Another hint that might be useful. When you use up all your shortning, make half of this recipe and it fits wonderfully in the 3 lb shortning can. Then I just pop it into the refrigerator and it will keep practically forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Makes great biscuits, both cut and drop, shortcakes, pie crusts, anything you would use baking mix for...when I make this I at least double it. It goes fast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I LOVE this. I use it in place of the yellow box from the store - can use with all the "biscuit mix" recipes! Save money and know what is in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I scaled the recipe to 6 and added just a splash over 2/3 C of milk, rolled the dough out and cut with a biscuit cutter. Baked at 450 for about 6 mins and they were perfect. I still prefer a biscuit recipe using whipping cream, but this is a wonderful alternative if you don't have any on hand. Will never use a mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States