Easy Biscuit Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
True the name- EASY! Here's a couple of adjustments: we are a family of 4, who needs 10 cups worth of biscuits?! My awesome math made enough for my family- 2 cups flour, 1/8 tbs sugar, 1/8 C baking powder, a pinch of salt and 1/2 C butter (we live in San Diego... I don't even think SHORTENING is legal here :) Made about 6 big biscuits - YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
i used this yesterday, my husband wanted biscuits and gravy. i found this recipe. absolutly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I am confused here.... what can you use this for, do you store everything mixed together, even the shortening and is there anything else to add to this to make biscuits??? Do you just store this in a container and stick your hand in and grab a glob, form it and whip it on a pan? NEED MORE INFO PLEASE. AFTER researching to find recipes... SIMPLE recipes, found it was too salty for my quiche. I did scale back to 1 1/4 tsp salt. Again, would have been helpful for a simple recipe or two like pancakes, or biscuits instead of having to search for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. It has replaced Bisquick in my house. I use all the Bisquick recipes from their website with this and it's so much tastier home-made! Store in an air-tight container in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
best biscuit mix ever...no changes needed and if u mix 4 cups with 1 1\2b cup of buttermilk they will taste just like KFC biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Made as written, but scaled down to 6 & didn't over do the cutting in of the shortning. Added 1 cup milk & kneaded just a few times on a lightly floured board...the dough was so soft! Patted down, cut 12 biscuits & baked 450 degrees until golden. They raised quite a bit & turned out so fluffy! Next time I will add a pinch more salt (not quite enough flavor on their own) & will use buttermilk whenever I have it. I can't wait to try using butter in place of shortning since so many others rave about it! I guess y'all can tell I plan on making this over & over...hmmm...I gotta try it for pancakes, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I first made this to use in Zucchini Pie on this site - worked perfectly once I figured out to cut down the oil in the pie recipe! I've also used it to make pancakes following a reviewer's suggestion (2 c mix, 1 c milk, 2 eggs) and they were wonderful - I usually don't like pancakes but these were light and not greasy. My go-to pancake recipe now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
SO delicious! And so incredibly easy to mix up. I put the whole mixture in my stand mixer, and although it just baaarely fit, it did the trick! Next time I will put half in at a time, because it was so dang easy in the mixer, and cut in the shortening to perfection. I've only made biscuits with this, but they rose higher and were fluffier than when I used Bisquick. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good used it just as I would have used biscuit mix. Did scale down to 6 servings but will be making more. Thanks to this I will never have to buy biscuit mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea62779

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Just made these scaled down to 12. With a little over 2cups of milk, knead 10x, rolled out to 1/4"-1/2" and used my drinking glasses to cut out biscuits. I got about 15-18 perfectly golden dense biscuits, I didn't count exactly, on 375* for about 15 mins. YUMMY! We had these with a traditional southern dinner of fried chicken last night and then again this morning with spicy Jimmy Dean sausage, with eggs and cheese between these biscuits. I've had them with grape & strawberry jams and honey w/ butter. Possibilities are endless. This will be a staple in my house!!! THank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States