Easy Biscuit Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is great. I scaled it down and only made the amount I needed right then (thanks to another review) and used butter the biscuits were really good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Good Mix. I used this to make "Garlic Cheese Biscuits" and pancakes. Both were excellent. For sweet recipes this doesn't substitute for all the sugar. I substituted oat bran for 2 cups of the flour and used butter instead of shorting. My version needs refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
A great mixture to have around the pantry. Being from the south we love biscuits like a hog loves slop. So believe me when I say these are good. I make small batches 1 cup mixture to 1/3 cup milk, kneed and roll into 4 or 5 small biscuits. Bake at 450 for 10 to 12 minutes. They are light and have a great taste. Try these you will be happy and you will never buy that store bought mixture again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I love this idea...no preservatives and I can make whole wheat biscuits. I just substituted 1/2 if the flour with whole wheat flour. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Third time making the mixture and we still love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This recipe is perfect for me. I am a widow (live alone) and old (don't eat much anymore)! I made just half the mixture, adding a bit of baking soda. I store it in the freezer, bringing it to room temp before preparing the biscuits. I use 1 cup of the mixture with about 1/3 cup of buttermilk (milk with lemon juice), pat it out and cut into two biscuits. Perfect for this old gal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Lived up to the other reviews here, I will keep this recipe forever for biscuits and pancakes and whatever else I can use it for. Definitely has that KFC biscuit taste which I love. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aylimn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Ennis, County Clare, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Awesome recipe! So quick & easy...you can even whip them up for a fast breakfast. And the mix stays good in the fridge for quite a while (not that it gets a chance to stay in the fridge!)... it won rave reviews from the crew, especially when partnered with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Mmm... I never tried the biscuits by themselves, but I cut down the recipe to 3 biscuits, added a 1/2 cup of milk, and made brown sugar biscuits instead. I rolled out the dough into about a 7x5 inch rectangle, coated the top with melted butter and sprinkled on brown sugar and raisins. Then I rolled starting at the 7 inch side, cut every into inch-wide rolls and cooked it in the oven at 415F for 11 minutes. Made about 5 of various sizes, and they came out crispy on the outside and nice soft inside. I have a hard time limiting myself to eating only two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anglica
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I've made this several times, using the recipe to yield 3 instead of 24. (It actually makes 6 biscuits). I also used another users directions and added 1/2 cup of milk and I use butter instead of shortening. They taste great! I combine all of the dry ingredients, cut the butter into small bits and blend it with my hands. Then, I add the milk a little at a time, mixing it with my hands until I form a nice sturdy lump and I knead it maybe 10 times. Some people may roll it out, but I just flatten it to 1/2 inch thick with my hands and cut it using a glass since I don't have a biscuit cutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States