Easy Beginner's Turkey with Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I used this recipe last year for my first Thanksgiving in attempt to impress my mother and my mother-in-law. I was successful both ways. The entire family complimented my cooking ability. In fact, this year I was asked to have Thanksgiving again. And the first thing I did was look up this recipe. Thank you so much! I think I may modify it a bit by pouring over a bottle of beer or wrapping it in bacon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This is my first time making a turkey. My family love it! I brushed the outside of the turkey with melted unsalted butter instead of vegetable oil and it gave it a nice golden color. I removed the foil during the last 45 minutes of cooking and basted about every 10 minutes. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
Didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I didn't use the stuffing mix. Instead I grated some bread into a bowl - about 8 slices (after letting the slices sit out flat on the counter to dry out for a couple of hours). And then added enough melted butter to make it moist (about 1/2 cup) and added the cooked celery and onion as per recipe directions. I also added celery salt and pepper and poultry seasoning for flavor. This stuffing is much better then the box and not difficult to make. I also put some rosemary, salt and pepper in the vegetable oil and rubbed it under the turkey skin rather then over the exterior. Keep in mind that a convection oven will cook a 12 pound turkey in just a little over half the time. Mine was ready in just over 2 hours. But make sure you check that the stuffing reaches 165 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I also made this last year to try and impress my in-laws....who came over sort of last minute. Couldn't use white bread or butter (mom's health issues), so unfortunately that made a big difference in the taste. Will probably try a different recipe this year (or trying to tinker with this one to make it a little more exciting), but this was good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Thank you so much for making my very first Christmas dinner phenomenal! I never made a turkey before this and I must say it really gave me a major boost of confidence in my cooking skills. My nine-year-old even helped. She didn't want to put her hand inside for the stuffing, but did everything else with me. She could probably do it herself next time because it was so easy! Before rubbing the turkey exterior with veggie oil, I pierced it all over with a large fork to allow the spices to get in, then seasoned and "massaged" the exterior. The package of the turkey suggested adding strips of bacon to the exterior for additonal flavoring, which I did also. It was truly among the moistest turkeys I have ever eaten. Thank you for helping make my holiday the best I have had in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
this recipe looks similar to the one I always make, that my mother made. It may possibly be better to use a broth rather than water to enrich the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving AND Christmas last year, and it worked perfectly! The turkey and stuffing were moist and delicious. I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I cooked this for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. Not only did I get a good deal of compliments, but there was barely enough turkey left for leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This season was the first time I was attempting to cook a turkey by myself and with this recipe it came out wonderful! I had a houseful and it was a big hit. Very tender....just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States