Easy Beer Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My previous review was that this recipe had too much baking powder. I have since made it several times trying different measurements. The bottom line is DON'T ADD ANY baking powder. Self-rising flour already has baking powder in it, and it is sufficient for this recipe. I also don't add any Italian or onion spices, it is more versatile without - it's also very good for breakfast this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This is a really good beer bread recipe. Because of the recommendation from the previous reviewer I simply used 3 cups of self rising flour. My bread texture was perfect. The recipes I have seen previously call for 3 c of flour and 3 T of sugar. The extra tablespoon of sugar makes the bread a little sweeter. Also the brown sugar gives it a beautiful dark color. I switched the Italian seasoning for a creole spice because I thought it would blend better with the meat I was making. The recipe was as simple to follow as any beer bread and I will use it again. The only real warning I will give is make sure you use a high quality beer. I used a Honey Lager and it had great flavor. Cooking with beer is like cooking with wine, if you wouldn't drink it, don't cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This bread is so good. I leave out the spices and poke the dough with a knife in several places after pouring the melted butter over the top. I love the nice crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This bread was GREAT! My entire family just loved it. The crunchy top is especially delicious and this bread is fantastic with a really good soup and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I thought this recipe was great - although I didn't add the baking powder, Italian seasoning or the onion powder (I probably will try the onion powder next time). I've been looking for a beer bread recipe that tasted fabulous and didn't crumble. I think I've found it - and friends have asked immediately for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This is a very flavorful compact bread. I used 3 cups of self rising flour and omitted the all-purpose flour and baking powder. I served this with a spinach dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I had to get somewhat creative b/c i only had reg. flour on hand. So i used 1 cup flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt = 1 cup self-rising flour. The beer of choice tonight was a Budweiser Select and we thought it gave the bread a wonderful flava! This was a really easy and really tasty recipe for Beer Bread Mix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
530 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I used 3 c. self rising flour as another reviewer suggested and it came out great - sort of the consistency of a biscuit (crumbly crust, soft on the inside). I only used about 2 tablespoons melted butter on top and it was still very tasty. I thnk that other herbs like dill, sage, rosemary or thyme would go nicely in this bread as well. This was a nice accompaniment to Spinach & Leek White Bean Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Delicious! Great with a hearty bisque or soup!!! A new favorite and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I have always used a beer bread mix but decided recently to find a good recipe for it instead. This barely took longer than the mix I use and tasted much better. Very easy and very good. Had it with chili and my husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States