Easy Beer and Ketchup Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
I used Sam Adams beer for these meatballs. I baked them, then cooked the recipe in a crockpot for three hours. Great aroma, and super taste. I used them for meatball heros. Dyn-O-mite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
We didn't enjoy these at all--they left a horrible smell and a horrible taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I was disappointed with this recipe. I thought it would be perfect for all the beer lovers in the family but it was NOT a big hit. We threw the leftovers out which is a bummer after making the meatballs from scratch. The meatballs are good, the sauce is not. Did not smell good cooking at all. You're better off making the meatballs and just using a bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
This recipe is wonderful and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used my own meatball recipe because what this recipe called for was extremely bland. I found the ketchup and beer sauce to be much too sweet, to the point where it was inedible. While cooking, it produced a disgusting smell that made me nauseous. All these things combined, I simply could not enjoy the sauce and ended up eating the meatballs separately. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Beer and Ketchup. Hummm....I have played around with this recipe a few times. As written, I don't like it. Onion and garlic make great meatballs, but if you change the chopped oinion to minced onion, and change the garlic powder to minced garlic, you have a very tasty meatball. The sauce is watery, and kinda smells bad. This could be the basis for a good recipe, but as written, not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful and easy recipe, and I make it frequently. My mom (who likes spicy food) uses the hot ketchup instead of regular. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe, my husband loved these meat balls. I did add an egg to the recipe to hold the meat together. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Listowel, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Very good, used it for superbowl. The kids weren't too crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
To make them even easier, I throw a bag of small, frozen Italian style meatballs in the slow cooker, then the beer (O'Douls for us) and ketchup, and voila! My family loves these meatballs as appetizers, party food, or even over rice as a meal! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States