Easy Beer and Ketchup Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Beer and Ketchup. Hummm....I have played around with this recipe a few times. As written, I don't like it. Onion and garlic make great meatballs, but if you change the chopped oinion to minced onion, and change the garlic powder to minced garlic, you have a very tasty meatball. The sauce is watery, and kinda smells bad. This could be the basis for a good recipe, but as written, not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used my own meatball recipe because what this recipe called for was extremely bland. I found the ketchup and beer sauce to be much too sweet, to the point where it was inedible. While cooking, it produced a disgusting smell that made me nauseous. All these things combined, I simply could not enjoy the sauce and ended up eating the meatballs separately. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe was not to our taste but some people might like it. It would make a better appetizer than a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
we loved these. I would look at the other reviews and get some extra tips before trying, But after following the tips along with the recipe, we foudn this to be an excellent dinner idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Too sweet and too blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I took off a star because I think 2 bottles of beer would be far too watery, and I think the meatballs need jazz. However, with one bottle of beer and my own meatball recipe (which has more spices than this one), this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shainna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I did alot of changes to the meatballs in this recipe, but kept the other ingredients the same. I found the sauce way to watery. I only had 1 of 4 kids who liked it. I found it uninspiring at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
great tasting and easy! What could be better? My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Super easy and taste good. We need to do a bit of tweaking with some spices, but the recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I followed recipe as listed. It is very easy, however, I didn't care for the meatballs themselves. The sauce turned out okay, but did not thicken up too much. If you try this recipe I would suggest using fresh minced garlic instead of powder and may decrease the amount of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States