Easy Beef Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
We made 10 pies' worth of this recipe for a big group. It was very easy, but I found it somewhat bland. I would also at least double the meat:vegetable ratio if I was going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Very nice. I added bacon to the browning chuck steak cubes and used store bought puff pastry. I used beef stock instead of red wine and frozen veg. Before I added the pastry lid, I covered the meat mixture with a layer of tasty cheddar cheese slices. My hubby loves steak, bacon and cheese pie. Because I added the bacon it was a lot saltier and next time I will use salt-reduced stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Simply DELICIOUS, good comfort food! I used beef broth in place of the red wine and frozen veggies instead of canned. I LOVED IT! This will definitely be a favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lbg205
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Very good pot pie. I used the refrigerated pie crusts which were perfectly cooked. The canned mixed vegetables I used had potatoes which was a nice addition to the pie. I might explore using frozen vegetables next time to see if their was a big difference. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This is a great beef pie, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I had to improvise with this recipe, I made my own pie crust, and beef gravy as I had none pre-made on hand. I also cut back on the wine because I didn't make enough gravy ( ooops!). Plus, I used frozen veggies. Other than all that I followed the recipe and it was my first time cooking with wine I was pleased overall. I will build upon this recipe, and make again thanks Andrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Great recipe made it for husband's birthday and it was a total hit with the in-laws as well as the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This has a strange flavor, the wine is not a good addition. I followed directions exactly, maybe I should have used broth instead. It's basically chicken pot pie but with stew beef and a bland gravy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I used left over pot roast and it turned out wonderfully. My boyfriend and I actually liked it better than the pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is the 2nd pie that I have ever made and it wasn't until this recipe did I discover the importance of letting a pie "sit" so that the flavors can set in. At first taste I thought that maybe the recipe called for too much wine but a few hours later after I had it in the fridge and heated it up it tasted perfect! My sister the picky eater even enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States