Easy BBQ Flank Steak with Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was awesome! i let it marinade for 48 hours and then threw it on a hot grill. The steak had wonderful flavor. As far as the mayo, I think most people would have better luck if they made it to their own preference. I just took a few spoonfuls of mayo (enough for me, my bf and daughter) and then added about 2 chipotles and some sauce and tasted, and then added until I had the flavor I liked. My bf LOVED the mayo. If you just take enough mayo to serve the number of people eating and then add a little of the peppers and sauce at a time, you will be a lot happier. Too much chipotle can be really hot. I cannot wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
We LOVE this recipe and I will be making this for years to come! We have made it 3 times, and each time we follow the directions exactly. While the steak is grilling I like to caramelize some onions, then we make steak sandwiches with smoked provolone, caramelized onions & chipotle mayo. Put them under the broiler to melt the cheese and dig in! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I think that this recipe was AMAZING! I have made this twice and it is fantastic. I do make the sauce a little differently though. I use Sour Cream instead of Mayo. I also add in Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Fresh Oregano and Fresh Cilantro. Absolutely fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Great recipe! No problem with the Steak Marinade, I had all the ingredients for it and only marinated for 1 ½ hours and then broiled it. For the Chipotle Mayo, I didn’t have any chipotle peppers in adobo sauce – NO PROBLEM! I used ½ can green chilies, 1 tablespoon pimentos, a couple shakes of Habanera Pepper sauce plus, ½ capful of liquid smoke, then pureed together in a small food processor and it made a nice pinkish sauce with green specks (2 servings). Used it not only for the steak, I added it to a baked potato and used left-over’s to make sandwiches with. Then made another batch and add EVOO to it to make a nice creamy salad dressing. The steak came out great but my husband said the mayo was better than the steak. I served the steak with a baked potato and green salad with olive oil/vinegar/garlic vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe was a HUGE hit!! My wife is not much for leftovers, but she ate this until she was licking out the Tupperware. I've since been conscripted to make this for her Bunko night and another time we had the neighbors over for dinner (mind you this is within 2 weeks). I've found that you can substitued a London Broil if you can't find flank steak and also that there is enough marinade that two pieces of meat can be prepared at one time. As one reviewer noted, a cup and a half of mayo is quite a bit of mayo, but my family liked it enough that they found other uses for it and it didn't go to waste. Do remember not to overcook the meat because these cuts will tend to get tough quickly, so if you like well done, this may not be the recipe for your and also cut the meat on a bias and across the grain and you'll have an excellent meal... I've had nothing but rave reviews to date and this recipe is getting a workout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent! Made for a big family dinner and everyone raved! Will be making for Christmas dinner because it was so good and so much easier to prepare than turkey. I only had time to let this marinade for about four hours, and it was still tenderr and flavorful. The sauce is great, too. The only change I made was to add a bit more honey - probably about 2 T more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALHAAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was excellent!! I didn't have any honey so I used about 1/4 cup of brown sugar and I marinated the steak for 36 hours. The dipping sauce was very good and so easy. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This marinated is simple and delicious! I let it soak up the goodness for roughly six hours. Popped it onto the BBQ to sear, and then placed it on the top rack to finish cooking. This piece of meat really does continue to cook while it is resting, something to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I was very skeptical about this recipe. I thought it sounded like an odd combination of flavors. I was influenced by the other reviewers, though. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised when I took my first bite. It was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except for two things. I didn't have any fresh rosemary, so I used dry instead. I can see how this would be so much better with fresh rosemary, but my plants aren't that far along yet. Also, I didn't have any canned chipotle peppers, so I used some chipotle hot sauce instead. I just mixed it with the mayo until it had the right bite I was looking for. So, so good! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fantastic. My kids ate it all gone in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States