Easy BBQ Flank Steak with Chipotle Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! It's our go-to for camping and bbqs. Every time we've served it, people talk about it for ages...it's *that* good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was a great recipe, definitely a keeper. We marinated the steak about six hours. I served the sauce on the side so everyone could choose the amount of sauce they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This recipe is a keeper! I got a flank steak from the butcher and he scored it for me. It was only a little over a pound, so I halved the marinade and it was enough. We were half way through eating when I realized I forgot to make the clipotle mayo, hubby got up and just mixed a little ground chipotle red pepper into mayo and it was great, and really made a difference on the steak. Can't wait to make it with the real chipotle mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Ugh, this is a hard review. I had two flank steak from Costco so I decided to do one this way and one with Yoshida's Teriyaki marinade from Costco. My husband said this was very good but the whole family preferred the teriyaki one. Not a fair comparison but while this one was very good, I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this recipe for my husband who loves spicy dishes. He absolutely loved it and that is saying something because he is hard to please! I used top sirloin steak and put it under the broiler for about ten minutes. I also used Cracked Pepper Olive Oil Mayo instead of regular and that added another element of burn to the mayo dip. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I was very skeptical about this recipe. I thought it sounded like an odd combination of flavors. I was influenced by the other reviewers, though. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised when I took my first bite. It was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except for two things. I didn't have any fresh rosemary, so I used dry instead. I can see how this would be so much better with fresh rosemary, but my plants aren't that far along yet. Also, I didn't have any canned chipotle peppers, so I used some chipotle hot sauce instead. I just mixed it with the mayo until it had the right bite I was looking for. So, so good! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fantastic. My kids ate it all gone in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellent. Everyone loved it, and the mayo is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I think that this recipe was AMAZING! I have made this twice and it is fantastic. I do make the sauce a little differently though. I use Sour Cream instead of Mayo. I also add in Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder, Fresh Oregano and Fresh Cilantro. Absolutely fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Great recipe! No problem with the Steak Marinade, I had all the ingredients for it and only marinated for 1 ½ hours and then broiled it. For the Chipotle Mayo, I didn’t have any chipotle peppers in adobo sauce – NO PROBLEM! I used ½ can green chilies, 1 tablespoon pimentos, a couple shakes of Habanera Pepper sauce plus, ½ capful of liquid smoke, then pureed together in a small food processor and it made a nice pinkish sauce with green specks (2 servings). Used it not only for the steak, I added it to a baked potato and used left-over’s to make sandwiches with. Then made another batch and add EVOO to it to make a nice creamy salad dressing. The steak came out great but my husband said the mayo was better than the steak. I served the steak with a baked potato and green salad with olive oil/vinegar/garlic vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States