Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I was skeptical of this recipe because, quite frankly, it looked a bit too easy. I am used to more complicated cobblers. I had some fresh strawberries in the refridgerator that I didn't want to go bad and decided to use them for this dessert. I am amazed at how great the cobbler presented itself and tasted. I used a stoneware pie dish and melted the butter in the oven as suggested but scaled back on the amount -about 3 Tbsp. I mixed the ingredients as it stated and sliced the fresh strawberries onto the top (didn't place them in whole as they were extra large) until the top of the dish was blanketed with them. I let the cobbler bake for about 50 minutes and served it warm with a dollop of cool whip on top. Fantastic. My dinner guest was quite amazed and impressed. This was the easiest and one of the best tasting cobblers I've made to date (and I bake A LOT). Next time I'll try experimenting with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCOTTINO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I really don't know what more you could ask for in either a recipe or a dessert. Five stars for ease of preparation. Five stars for straightforward instructions and easily available ingredients. And five stars for being delicious, heavenly comfort food. I made this as the recipe directed, only adding 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I think I had this in the oven in under five minutes from walking into the kitchen! Buttery, cakey topping, crispy along the edges, with a nice balance of fruit and batter. I used all strawberries, and can only imagine how good this would be with any number of other fruits as well. My only criticism, and it is a small one, is that I would like to see this fuller in the pan - as written, the recipe fills an 8x8 pan about half full. Next time I may try adding half again as much of both the batter and fruit ingredients so that it fills the pan more. However, who really cares so much about how it looks in the pan - it's what it looks and tastes like once it gets on your plate that counts, and this was gooooooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
very good for a quick and easy dessert. I used a mix of peaches and blueberries. However, I would recommend using more fruit than recommended-closer to three cups makes it fruiter and less doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I cannot believe that this only has 4 stars. Maybe a review by a pastry chef is in here somewhere; short of that level of concern for detail, I can't imagine not loving this. It was a total breeze - it took me 10 minutes to throw it together, and it was warm and yummy and just perfect. I'm not much of a baked-dessert person, but this was really impressive for how easy it is. (Oh, but I did add more fruit than it called for!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Doubled this and made it in a 9x13 with 4 cups of blueberries and about 1/2 c bing cherries. Yum! Added about 1/4 t nutmeg, because we like nutmeg with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I made this with peaches, and I thought it was great!! I just served it by itself instead of with ice cream because there is enough sugar in this alone. I will probably make it again sometime with these alterations... 1/2 cup more peaches, only 3 Tbs butter, and 1/2 cup sugar with an extra Tbs on top. It turned out a little creamy underneath with a nice golden crust on top. I also cooked mine about 65-70 mins vs. the 50-60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I have made other cobblers that turned out delicious. In this one the ratio of butter to milk to flour seemed wrong. I followed directions anyways but the cobbler was soggy and greasy. It was just edible with ice cream. There are much better cobblers on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Easy and very delicious. I used nectarines and freshly pitted cherries, doubled the recipe for a 9x13 dish. It's a "cakey" cobbler, not a "biscuit" cobbler. I added nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla to the batter. Next time I'm going to use all fresh blueberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
A decent cobbler with peaches and blueberries. I used Jo's suggestion to use 3 cups of fruit. I also added a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I had some frozen berries that I didn't know what I was going to do with...came across this recipe and tried it. It was ok...I do agree with some of the other reviewers who said that they thought the butter batter ratio was off. The batter turned out very thick for us and was too much for fruit (which all sank to the bottom of the cobbler). I think I will keep my other recipe for this. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,065) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States