Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I have made other cobblers that turned out delicious. In this one the ratio of butter to milk to flour seemed wrong. I followed directions anyways but the cobbler was soggy and greasy. It was just edible with ice cream. There are much better cobblers on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I made this with peaches, and I thought it was great!! I just served it by itself instead of with ice cream because there is enough sugar in this alone. I will probably make it again sometime with these alterations... 1/2 cup more peaches, only 3 Tbs butter, and 1/2 cup sugar with an extra Tbs on top. It turned out a little creamy underneath with a nice golden crust on top. I also cooked mine about 65-70 mins vs. the 50-60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
very good for a quick and easy dessert. I used a mix of peaches and blueberries. However, I would recommend using more fruit than recommended-closer to three cups makes it fruiter and less doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
A decent cobbler with peaches and blueberries. I used Jo's suggestion to use 3 cups of fruit. I also added a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
VERY buttery...still good, but not good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREEN38

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I chose to use the frozen berries. I never measure anything, especially when adding fruit, so I am sure I overcompensated on the "2 cups". What's it gonna hurt if you have more fruit right? This dish turned out great, so easy. Will definitely make this again. And soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe is easy and excellent. I can't praise it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is the best cobbler recipe i've found on allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I thought this was good, but not a cobbler per se. Mine had a chewy, cake-like consistency. The butter residue was not integrated with the batter, and some of the salt didn't totally meld either. But it was a hit with my husband, so it couldn't have been all that bad--it was just not what I thought it would be in terms of consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I was all excited about making a strawberry cobbler, and it flopped. I guess i used too many strawberries or something b/c the center would not rise or bake. I had to bake it so long that the sides got VERY brown. From the pic i took of it, it looks baked, HA HA, but it wasnt underneath. Darn the luck!! Still had good flavor around the edges that did bake. I sampled a little piece so i could rate the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States