Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is the first cobbler I have ever made and it was so delicious. I used a few fresh raspberries and blackberries that I had, and 1 can of blueberry pie filling, (cleaning out the pantry), and made no adjustments to the other ingredients. I've been wanting to use my cast iron pan and it was the perfect size for this recipe, it came out perfect and my family couldn't believe how good it was. The crisp buttery edges of the dough were amazing. Ate it all! I will be definitely making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I thought that this was quite easy and not too bad. I made it with blueberries and thought that it was a nice afternoon snack or even breakfast because it is not too sweet at all. Almost like a buttery muffin loaded with berries. I would make again but not sure I would make for guests as a dessert. Not sweet enough and not really a 'wow' factor at all. LIke the crunchy buttery corners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOOBSIEE
Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this with fresh blueberries and it was all eaten the same day! I added a tsp of vanilla and then when cooled, drizzled a little icing sugar/lemon frosting over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am sorry to say I didn't care for this and I am not super picky. I used three cups of blueberries. Fresh out of the oven it was okay (although too sweet, which is a lot coming from me, lol). But it soon turned very greasy, gummy and sticky. I had even cut back to 3 tablespoons of butter and it still tasted basically like butter and sugar. I would also agree that it was nothing like a cobbler; more like a greasy blueberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I used 6 Tablespoons of butter and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I also made a crumble topping instead of using the sugar on top. A new family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup the first try with peaches and blueberries and using reduced sugar again I tried using 1/2 cup AP flour and 1/4 cup cornmeal when I made it the second time using frozen strawberries. Both times the results were great. I liked being able to bake it in a ceramic pie plate in my toaster oven. I am a big fan of Pam Anderson's recipes. This one is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a very good recipe for dispatching of overripe fruit. I found it fantastic when made, but it degraded quickly in the fridge and became soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I must have done something wrong because I didn't think this was all that great. Maybe I didn't let it bake quite long enough and I definitely think it needs more than 2 cups of fruit--at least 2.5 cups. Having said that, for as easy as it was to throw together, I will be making this again and try to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and the batter came out spongy and dry. Horrid. Cobbler batter should turn out more like dumplings than cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was terrible. WAY too much butter, such that when adding the dough mixture to the pan, it ended up swimming in butter, which partially mixed with the dough and partially pooled on the sides of the pan. At this point, I knew it wasn't going to turn out right, and even debated mixing the butter with the dough to at least even out consistency. I ended up just baking it as instructed, and had similar results to other critical reviews - the crust on the outer corners baked nicely, while the center remained soggy and never firmed up. Had I baked it any longer, the edges would have burned. The parts that did bake through took on a very spongy, greasy texture. Not even close to what I'd call a cobbler, and largely inedible - won't be making this one again. If you decide to make this recipe, pay close attention to the modifications suggested by other reviewers. I wish I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States