Easy Banana Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I gave this a go and all in all, it's pretty tasty. My one banana is a bit overwhelming, but I think I just find the combo a bit strange. I will use less butter next time--1/2 cup is an entire stick and my poor brownies are a bit buttery still! The flavor is very interesting and keeps growing on me. The only real complaint I have here is the listed cook time--20 minutes? No way. I checked at 20...25...30...35...40 was the winner. 4 stars for flavor and ease of preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Moist, tasty brownies. I too had to bake them a little longer so that the middle was not runny. The banana flavor is not too overwhelming, but is present. Added extra chocolate chips at the end--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Fantastic recipe. Delicious, easy to prepare, they don't stick around for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
yummy, what a great recipe i will make this again. thankyou for an awesome recipe. a keeper. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
These are the best brownies I have ever made. I had to share them with our neighbors! I doubled the recipe. Instead of doubling the butter to one cup, I used only half a cup of butter plus half a cup of extra mashed banana. The brownies are moist, delicious, and nobody missed the extra fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! I added some extra 1/3 cup chocolate chips -- perfect! Definitely don't overbake them. I took them out after about 25 minutes - they were slightly underdone and gooey in the middle! RAVE reviews. Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
yum!! these brownies were soo delicious. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Fantastic and easy. I doubled these and made them in a 9x13 pan. I also added some extra chocolate chips to the batter right before baking. They took about 35 minutes in my oven and were chewy and delicious. They don't need frosting, but I was taking them to an event and dressed them up with the banana buttercream icing from this site. They disappeared very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Easy? Yes Tasty? Not really :o( I love frozen chocolate covered bananas so I figured this recipe would suit me very well. It was kind of gummy (weird texture) although it certainly was quick to throw together. I used a 9 x 13 pan and doubled the recipe for a church function and only a couple of pieces were eaten. Kind of a waste in my opinion. Oh well, quite a few other reviewers liked this so maybe it's just me! PS: Didn't have any semi sweet chips so used milk chocolate chips, could this have been the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GLORIA LEE
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe and I am continually perfecting it. These changes should yield a compromise between fudgy and cakey. For 8x8 pan you can try these changes: (They won 3rd prize at the Minnesota State Fair in August-2009) Here are the changes: 2 eggs instead of one. 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar instead of 2/3 cup. 5 oz semi sweet and 1 oz bittersweet chips or baking bars (for about a whole cup total chocolate to melt) instead of 2/3 cups. 6 Tablespoons butter instead of 1/2 cup. About 4 inches of banana, then mash ( or a little more if you like strong banana flavor.) 1 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder mixed into the flour and salt mixture. Optional to FOLD into completed batter: 1/2 cup lightly toasted pecans and 1/2 cup semi sweet chips. No change to vanilla, flour, or salt. Follow mixing instructions in recipe. ONLY GREASE BOTTOM OF PAN. Bake at 325 for at least 35 minutes to 40 min. Check at 35 min. You should get a shiny, crackly crust. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States