Easy Banana Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made this the other night and they are wonderful. I doubled the recipe except the butter and added extra banana and then put them in a 9X13 pan to bake. They were excellent and kind of have a banana bread texture with chocolate taste. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These brownies were so delicious that my 6-year old asked me to leave them a fifteen star review! I followed the original posters adjustments (explained under the first review), but doubled the batch. The one thing I changed was to add more cocoa powder (she suggests 1 tablespoon, I used closer to 1/4 cup). These are probably the best brownies I've ever had. They are moist and chewy, and not at all cakey. They have a rich chocolate taste that is accented by the addition of bananas, without the bananas being at all overpowering. I did need to increase the baking time to about 50 minutes, which was an excruciatingly long wait because they smell so good in the oven, but it was totally worth it. I'm already thinking about where I can take a huge batch to share--they're that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I took the advice of the original poster in her updated review, plus Pelirojo Peligroso's suggestion to increase the banana rather than the butter. So I used 1/2 c. margarine, 1 c. choc. chips, 2 eggs, 1 c. brown sugar, 2 small bananas, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 tsp. salt, 3/4 c. flour, and 1 tbs. cocoa powder in a 6"x10" pan. They turned out great! I usually like my regular brownies fudgy, but being banana brownies, the slight "cakiness" seemed just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Amazing! Replaced the butter by coconut oil (because of beef allergy) and cooked in mini muffin pan for 20 minutes to make brownie bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Oh yum! I was hoping the rest of the family wouldn't like them so i could have them al to myself ~ no such luck.... These browmies were moist and delicious and were gone!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Add and extra egg! Great use of old bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I tried making some changes that did not turn out so well. First, do not use more banana than this recipe calls for. Second, do not substitute wheat flour for the white. The flavor was not good. I will give this a try again with the original recipe and then re-rate. I always end up with overripe bananas in my house so it's good to have a way to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
To the reviewer on 2-11-12: You should not rate a recipe 3 out of 5 stars if you did not follow the recipe or the adjusted recipe as I mentioned below. It is not fair. 1-18-12: I followed the changes made by the submitter on July 1, 2009 on page 4 of these reviews. First, I did NOT change the flour or salt or vanilla. I used 2 eggs instead of one, 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar, 5 oz semi sweet and 1 oz bittersweet chips to equal 1 cup total to melt, 6 Tablespoons butter, about 4 inches of banana, then mash, 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder mixed into the flour and salt mixture. Once batter was mixed I mixed in 1/2 cup toasted pecans and 1/2 cup semi sweet regular sized chips-NOT mini chips. If you use mini chips, they melt into the batter and the top won't be shiny. I can taste why these won a ribbon at the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Truly an easy recipe - good for whipping up during a family games night. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My friend made these. She didn't have chocolate chips in the cupboard so she used butterscotch chips instead. Delicious!!! Next we are going to try peanut butter chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States