Easy Baking Powder Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is a fabulous topper for pot pies. I didn't have any puff pastry one day & thought , what about a biscuit topper? The one thing I found out though is to cover the biscuit mix with aluminum foil first for about 20 min. @ 350, then uncover & continue baking for 20-30 min @375 untill the biscuit topping is browned. Otherwise the underside could turn out raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
These are quick, easy, and delicious. I added some cheddar cheese and garlic powder to mine and they were awesome. :)Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Great basic recipe. As the other reviewer said, it is very buttery. This would be especially delicious with some garlic powder and shredded cheddar or herbs. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Best drop biscuit recipe I've tried so far! Fluffy and buttery, and very easy to make. I found the milk quantity to be a little too much - I ended up adding just over a cup of milk and that was plenty. Next time I'll try rolling these out for cut biscuits. VERY good with a little butter and jam. Be careful not to overmix the dough, and if you want a browned top you may want to brush the top with a egg/milk/butter wash. I'll definitely keep this in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were pretty good and super easy to make. I added 1 tsp of Garlic powder,1 tsp of parsley flakes and 1/4 cup cubed marble cheese. I baked at 375 for 15 mins. I did bake the other way but I found my bottoms burned to quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
My grandma has been making biscuits like this for years, as did her mom and my mother. Now, I make them for my children. These will always be my favorite because of that. I make these now with buttermilk or soured milk and sometimes if the mood sets me right, I might add spices to compliment whatever meal I'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
i followed this recipe to a tee. it was too runny, had to add a lil more flour. they turned out too buttery tasting, and the worst was they didnt rise. they were flat and tuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mseakin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Took only 15 min start to finish. Quick, easy and tastes great. I added some Italian seasonings and cooked in my toaster oven 11 min. Very buttery, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane S
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Awesome as a shortcake-style biscuit or scone for a strawberry dessert. My main changes were adding an extra tbsp sugar, decreasing the milk to 1 cup, and sprinkling with a dash of cinnamon before baking at 375 for about 15-18 minutes. Very tasty and light and best of all, no shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane S
Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is a super delicious biscuit recipe. Wonderful base for many other additions, it's very versatile. I doubled the recipe and removed some dough to make plain ones before I added other ingredients. I added 2 cups of shredded Mexican blend cheese and 1/2 cup of diced jalapeno peppers (from a jar) and 1 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder. I brushed them with a bit of melted butter out of the oven. They are fabulous! I tried them plain, without any changes, and they are delicious also. I will use this simple, but great recipe often. They went very well with the soup we had for dinner. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States