Easy Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is the best fish I have ever had. I didn't use measurements, but I used extra virgin olive oil as my base and to that I added old bay seasoning, garlic powder, seasoned salt and dry parsley flakes. I brushed that on my tilapia and placed a lemon slice on each fish and then squeezed fresh lemon juice on top and baked covered at 350 for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hhazelwood07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
The EASIEST recipe every & SOOOOOOO delicious & healthy! I didn't have any lemon, so I omitted it and it wasn't even missed. FYI - those doing Weight Watchers, this FILLING meal is 3 pts/svg! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I made this tonight. It was great. I used frozen tilapia and it needed about 5 more minutes. I used a frozen stir-fry veggie mix...next time I will add it with only 20 minutes left because th veggies were overdone. Instead of dotted butter, I melted butter and added lemon juice, garlic & onion powder, parsley, old bay, and pepper. I drizzled this over the fish. The last 10 minutes, I sprinkled some bread crumbs on top. It was great. Next time I'll top it was parmesan cheese. Thanks so much. This is a great recipe that you can really experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
937 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This dish came out great but I am giving it only four stars because it's one of those that everybody changes to his own liking. The basic idea, Tilapia with Old Bay Spice is a great one, though. For my dinner, I melted about 3 tbs of butter and added lots more of Old Bay along with some lemon juice, which I drizzled over the fish. Then I topped the fish with freshly chopped garlic, scallions and ground pepper. Before serving, I poured the resulting sauce from the pan over the fish and rice - this came out really really nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good recipe! I layered my 9x13 w/ some uncooked white rice & cream of mushroom soup, and cooked the fish on top. Also added bread crumbs -- made it a little crunchy. Great taste, really fast to make and extremely easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Wonderfully easy recipe with very nice results! I would like to give it a 4.5-star rating. I recommend two changes to the recipe: 1. instead of lemon slices, drizzle freshly-squeezed lemon juice over the fish (and over your choice of fresh or frozen vegetables); 2. add an additonal spice/herb to the Old Bay and garlic salt, in order to zip up the flavor...which otherwise will be on the bland side. I will make this dish again, and add paprika. Tilapia is a delightful fish: versatile, affordable, and delicious. This is a great recipe to get more seafood into your diet without fuss. It is also a lean and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I normally can't stand the sight or smell of fish, let alone the taste. However, my girlfriend loves it. I decided to surprise her because she has always said that if I were to cook fish that it would taste better than in restaurants. Well, I had no clue how to start, so I used this recipe as a base and it was amazing. The differences I made were that I added lime juice instead of lemon slices, and that I added garlic powder, salt, black pepper, cayun, and a little bit of bread crumbs. I then served it with garlic mashed potatoes and wild rice. This recipe is now my favorite and easiest to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guaynabo, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Very easy, flavorful, and cost-friendly! This would be a good dish for someone who is either new to eating fish, or is not usually a fish lover, as tilapia is very mild. For those of us who love fish, it's very good. I took suggestions from other reviews and made the following small changes: used frozen but slightly thawed fish and veggies, coated the fish with just a little olive oil and butter, added fresh garlic, and used recommended spices liberally and added a couple of other spices as well. Lastly, I sprinkled bread crumbs on the fish for the last ten minutes of cooking, and left the dish uncovered for that length of time as well. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I'd strongly recommend thawing the frozen vegetables before baking. I did not do this, and I has to add almost fifteen minutes to the cooking time. Even then, the fish, while done, was just barely warm. I still tasted great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Liberal use of spices is definitely key. I also used Smart Balance spray, instead of butter and it worked well. My frozen vegetable of choice was a 16 oz bag of broccoli stir fry. Semi-thawing of the frozen vegetable should speed up the process as it took 45 minutes, rather than 30 to fully heat through the vegetables. I put the vegetables on top of the fish, then sprinkled vegetables with spray butter and all the spices noted on the recipe and by others. I toasted leftover french bread and crumbled it on top, spraying all again with the spray butter. I took the cover off the dish the last 15 minutes of cooking time to crisp up the fish a bit. My husband said it was "delicious". Without the added spicing and spray butter, it would be more bland than I would prefer. Overall, the dish is easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 692) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States