Easy Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made no other changes to the recipe other than not measuring the brown sugar (I'm estimating I used about 1 cup total) and it was absolutely perfect! I'm a Vernors fan anyway and used 2 cans regular Vernors. I believe Diet Vernors wouldn't have made any change at all due to the fact I was using pineapple and the juice as well as brown sugar. This one is a keeper and will be used from now on in this household. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written. We loved it. Next time I will increase the brown sugar just because I think it will be even better. A real Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a great holiday ham recipe. It was moist and tender and had great flavor. I left the leftover ham in the gingerale bath in the fridge and it continued to be delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Tender, flavorful and easy to make. Next time I might try with 2 cans of pineapple and omit the ginger ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Channelview, Texas, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas and it was very good. I combined the brown sugar, pineapple juice and ginger ale before pouring over the ham and basted every 30 minutes. I also used a butt portion ham and Bleinheim's Ginger Ale. Will be using this again at Easter. I wonder how it would work on the grill and use the juice mixture as a basting sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nubiangrits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My Father had made this every Easter for years. Also excellent is using a bone-in Ham and basting every 20 minutes until finished. We live in the Philadelphia area and our favorites were Franks Golden ginger ale. 2 generations love this recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I've been making ham like this for years. As another poster suggested - Vernors Ginger Ale is best but I think it's a Michigan-based pop. Didn't have it in IL. But if you can find it - it's awesome. Great for reheating leftover ham.....gently simmer in the Vernors - easy ham and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is really good. A suggestion--If you can get Vernor's Ginger Ale, use that. Oh my! what a flavor. A glaze of the ingredients that another reviewer wrote would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I make ham in a similar way and this is very yummy- I let the ham bake a little longer and mix the ginger ale/pineapple juice basting juices and drippings with a can of cream of mushroom soup for a wonderful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States