Easy Baked Ham Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It smelled sooooo good cooking and I wanted to love it, but alas, it didn't work for me. I used the smallest bake dish the ham would fit into so I wouldn't have to dilute the flavors with lots of additional water needed to cover the ham, but the flavors (although good) were still muted. As the ham baked, it curled up above the cooking liquid. I flipped it over while cooking, but it still turned out dry. Perhaps covering the bake dish with foil would prevent the ham from drying out, or double the initial brown sugar/Worcestershire/clove mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This ham turned out so good for me. The only thing I did different is I added more brown sugar plus I used ground cloves instead of whole cloves being that I didn't have whole ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Incredibly easy and delicious! This ham steak passed the test with all of my picky eaters, too! I used 2 lbs. ham steak, doubled all the ingredients and baked in a 9 x 13 in. baking dish, sprinkled a little ground cloves as I didn't have whole ones on hand, and flipped the ham steaks over halfway through cooking. No dry, curly meat...turned out perfect! It was such easy prep, it was nice to be able to concentrate on the side dishes to accompany this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Simple,easy and oh so good!I had only one ham steak and only used 1 cup of water and it turned out so good,I did flip it once and baked it at 350 for 40 minutes.I also covered with foil.I will make my ham steaks like this from now on.so much better than grilling it or pan frying.Thanks for the recipe:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Delicious and easy with ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I baked my ham covered. It made a very moist ham slice. I didn't have whole cloves either so I used about a 1/2 t. of ground cloves. Easy recipe to throw together after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is just the ticket for a quick weeknight meal. I also used ground cloves and covered the ham slice while it baked. Served with Mom's Favorite Baked Mac & Cheese from this site and steamed broccoli. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
The ham was nice and moist. I covered the dish with foil as others suggested, and used ground cloves instead of whole cloves. The reason why it gets three stars is because the flavors were simply too muted to really taste past the ham. If I made this again, I would use way less water-- just enough to cover the bottom of the pan, not enough to cover the ham itself-- to see if I could bring the other ingredients to the forefront. Otherwise, a very easy, straightforward recipe for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My family really liked this. I will keep this in my rotation of meals. It was so easy and quick to make. The ham was so juicy. I also,used two ham steaks and the recipe was still fine. I occasionally basted the ham with liquid from the baking pan. I highly recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I think I asked for time/temp for baking raw sliced ham and I got this recipe I cannot use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States